We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wide selection of beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Authority NYC

Beer Authority NYC
613 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10018
+1 212-510-8415
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beer Authority NYC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #984 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wide selection of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husbands favourite place, lots of beers to choose from and tasty food for a quick bite. Open late and always fun to watch the goings on in the street below late at night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so pleased you had a great time and appreciate your continued patronage. We are excited to see you again!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    97
    28
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do yourself a favour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a small night drinking downstairs with easily the best bartender I've ever met.
Tony the wonderful Irishman knew everything there was to know about beer and was just so helpful.
Let me sample a few beers and suggested what kinds I may enjoy more.
He made up his own cocktails for my girlfriend which she loved.
Couldn't recommend a visit to see Tony enough!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback and for sharing your excellent experience with us! We are so pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed yourselves and really hope to see you again soon. Tony is looking forward to serving you once again!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went there for the first time this April and the service was great. The choices of food and beverage are outstanding and to be able to get a window seat that looked out over the theater district was awesome.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so pleased you had a great experience with us and hope you will visit the next time you're in NYC!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice beer- shame about the burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wanting a 'burger fix' I thought I'd pop into this place as it had a good selection of beers as well. well there is no problem with the beers which are many and a good mix of local microbrews and foreign classics. The atmosphere is OK for a bar with the usual TV screens showing sport and reasonable music playing. Service is friendly and attentive . However the burger recommended turned out to be an odd and unsatisfying one - undercooked burger, pointless huge onion ring and a soft brioche bun which disintegrated the minute you tried to eat it or cut it up. There are many more much better burger places - I'd come here for the beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have definitely taken your thoughts into consideration and recently have changed a lot of the recipes and menu items that we previously on the menu. We would love to invite you back to try it for yourself!

Hope to see you again soon,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place! Lots of different beers to try...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stumbled upon this place walking back to our hotel after dinner one night...

A bit too early to call it a night we decided to have a drink...4 drinks later and it was 1am!

The place is pretty big and has so many beers you are spoilt for choice!

After asking the waitress which beer she would recommend I opted for one of the "Christmas brew's"...it wasn't very nice but that's half of the fun.
Second time around I asked her opinion again, followed what she recommend and that was even worse than the first!! I should have know really since the beer was called "Reindeer poop"

Was a fun bar and could really have a good atmosphere when its busy! Enjoyed trying all the different beers, I think next time I will just stick to the Brooklyn lager!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are glad you had a great time and hope you join us again soon!

To being adventurous,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Authority NYC also viewed

 

Been to Beer Authority NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Authority NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.