We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to meet and eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Authority NYC

Beer Authority NYC
613 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10018
+1 212-510-8415
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beer Authority NYC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,002 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to meet and eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A buddy of mine told me about this place so I checked it out. The staff was super friendly as well as helpful. They knew their stuff. Asked me what kind of beer I enjoyed and pointed out items I would like. They have a great selection of beers on draught. The food was very good and a nice big plate so come with an appetite. I had Bacon stuffed deviled eggs which were great and enough to share and the meatloaf plate. Everything was really good and we had a nice time there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so glad you gave us a try and enjoyed your Beer Authority experience.

Looking forward to serving you again!
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    95
    28
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pulled pork Nachos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great atmosphere in the heart of Time Square. We had prompt, friendly service. A great selection of Beer and the Nachos were just what we needed after walking all day.

This is a big pub with lots of people so don't go if your looking for a quiet place. The restrooms were kept very clean by the attendant.

We would very much go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us! We are so pleased you had a great experience with us and hope you come back again soon!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“2 different visits, 2 different experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

One of our first stops in November after we checked in to our hotel and started exploring. Pretty large bar with great views of the bustling city. Our first visit there we had Manhattens (seemed like the proper thing) and chicken wraps. Both excellent and our server was very friendly and informative. It's beer heaven (too many kinds to count) and the menu is expansive, so we thought we might return sometime later in the week.
After the Macy's Parade we passed the bar again and thought of grabbing some lunch and escaping the cold. This time service was very indifferent and almost a bother to the young gentleman. We ordered drinks and sliders. Service was on the slow side for a fairly empty bar (we got there ahead of the crowd behind us) and the sliders had to be sent back as they were partially uncooked (again, a nuisance to our server).
Two different visits to this place but two very different experiences.
Overall, I'd give it a shot as the location is handy to Times Square and there are drinks galore...just watchout the sliders are cooked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We just finished updating all of our menus and hired a lot of staff to take on our new look and feel. We hope you visit again so we have another opportunity to impress you!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish I Had Learned of It Sooner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friends and I kind of stumbled upon this place one night. We diverted from a friend's recommendation, and gave it a try. I wish we had found out about it sooner. If you're a fan of beer, it's pretty much heaven. They have a wide variety for no matter what you are in the mood for, and no matter how busy they were, it didn't seem to take long.
The wait staff was friendly, and the music wasn't so overbearing that you couldn't carry on a conversation.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, General Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so pleased you had a great experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a great place for good atmosphere, good food and good beer. I've come here twice (Nov 2013, Apr 2014) and service was great both times - timely and personable servers. Laid back, cool people and perfect for beer lovers.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Beer Authority NYC, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us and sharing your thoughts. We are so glad you had a great experience and appreciate you for your continued patronage.

Looking forward to serving you again,
Beer Authority Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Authority NYC also viewed

 

Been to Beer Authority NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Authority NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.