We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Sushi, lovely restaurant, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neta

Neta
61 W 8th St, New York City, NY 10011 (Greenwich Village)
+1 212-505-2610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Neta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #748 of 11,226 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $225
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Neta offers daily omakase ("chef's choice"), tasting menus, small plates, and a full sushi menu. We invite sushi veterans as well as neophytes to join us at our sushi bar for direct service by our sushi chefs. We believe in the importance of hospitality, and welcome you to relax and enjoy your next meal with us.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“GREAT Sushi, lovely restaurant, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

'Sat at the bar with the sushi chef owners. Had the omakase dinner.

This was one of the best meals - sushi or otherwise - I've ever had, and a fraction of the cost of other highly-rated sushi restaurants in NYC (I'm thinking of 2 - four letter names, one that starts with "N" and one that starts with "M"...).

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spectacularly delightful Japanese tucked away in one of New York City's little corners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We arrived early and enjoyed the restaurant's quiet ambience and the friendly, professional staff (particularly the sushi chef). We followed his suggestions and those of our server and were thrilled with the simplicity of each creation--so fresh and full of flavor. The sake was stellar and we had so much fun. We did manage to rack up a substantial bill but it was worth every cent. If you're thinking about Japanese food in New York think Neta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“True love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Skip nobu, go to Neta instead. In comparison, nobu is big and not personal. In neta you will find a great atmosphere, and the best sushi i ever had! Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Omakase for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Neta this past Friday to celebrate my wife's birthday. We originally had reservations to Morimoto, but on the recommendation of a friend, tried Neta's $135 Omakase. We got to the restaurant at 5PM, when Neta just opened, and was seated at the sushi bar in front of Chef Jimmy. Chef Jimmy was fantastic - it was like a show to watch him prepare the meals in front of us. The caviar and toro (served in a martini glass) spread on the toasted bread was so delicious. Chef Jimmy's unagi was the best I ever have tasted. My wife took pictures of all the dished that was served, and we went home discussing which dish was the best...still debating it.
Yes, with the drinks and tips (I had to honor Chef Jimmy's talent as well as the waiter's attention) it was expensive, but well worth it.
We loved it so much we look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent and creative sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Diners sit at a long communal table/counter/bar snaking around the sushi bar and open kitchen, where they can watch their food being made. The sushi is both high quality and creatively composed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Neta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.