We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea International Hostel

Save Saved
You added Chelsea International Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelworld.com
Chelsea International Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   251 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Adequate - Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of the hostel is excellent. I stayed in the 4 bed female dorm with ensuite. Bathroom in the room is not easy to find in NyC so this is a definite plus. Also, the room had single beds so no bunk beds to deal with. The place is clean and provides all the basics of a hostel. BUT the wifi is only reserved for the common areas which close at 10 pm. So if you stay up late, you come back to a locked down facility with no access to the common room, the kitchen and the fridge. This is very inconvenient in the "city that never sleeps". There aren't many social activities and the staff seems to isolate themselves in an office. After certain hours, you can only communicate with them through a small window. Not sure if this has to do with the size of the place but the staff is very distant. However, the hostel serves its purpose and you are in NYC so you just sleep here anyway. The needed improvements would be access to common areas after hours and wifi on the rooms. Otherwise, this place is a good pick.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    107
    80
    45
    40
See reviews for
6
50
107
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't go in with very high expectations. The beds aren't comfortable at all, the ambiance is pretty grim, and it's very basic. However, you get what you pay for and at least everything is very clean. I thought the bagels for breakfast were great, but then I'm not from New York. The location is great and there's no way you'll find anything cheaper in this area. It's close to almost every subway line and places like times square or the village aren't too bad of a walk. There's a few things I wish I had packed (like I said, it's very basic), like hand soap, a hand towel, and an extra blanket. The wifi wasn't as bad as I expected. I would stay here again. I fell asleep pretty easily despite the awful bed and street noise. If you're not exhausted each night then you're not doing it right!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I did a quick solo trip to NYC and did endless amounts of hostel research. I went with Chelsea International because of the location, it seemed like the best bang for my buck and well managed. Those 3 major details proved to be so true. All I wanted was for it to be basic and clean and it certainly was. Apple, bagel & cereal handed out in the morning. Wednesday night they have a pizza a party with complimentary pizza. I thought that was very generous. The guys at the front desk were friendly and extremely helpful with directions, recommendations etc. It was so easy to find the subway and get around from there. You have to check out by noon, but you can rent a locker to put your stuff in if you have a later departure time which I did. If you are looking for a glitzy & happenin hostel, this isn't it but you'll be in NYC and I hope for your sake, that you won't be spending too much time back at the hostel. Happy trails!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 4 bed female only. It was a perfect size. If you going to bed early I hope you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ok the location is good. But being there during winter, the room we had was sooo cold we could'nt sleep. We told the receptionnist, he told us to go and buy some blankets ourselves ! We left for another place, really bad service, really poor breakfast.
If you are in NYC, avoid this place or it could ruin your journey!

Room Tip: Avoid the building at the rear of the courtyard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at the Chelsea International Hostel Oct 2012 (mere days before Superstorm Sandy). Part of a school trip with university students. Location was great, staff friendly, room clean, free WiFi and breakfast to boot! I have stayed in a few hostels in NYC and this had to be the best so far. Located in Chelsea you are handy 4 or more subway. The hostel is more a grouping of buildings 2-3 floors each and a rear 'quarters' with more spacious rooms. I had a double which had a sink, mirror, shelves and lockers. Beds were comfortable and warm at night even with window open. Shared bathroom in hall was small but did the trick. Other than the narrow steep stairwell..but can't be helped with an older building it was great on a budget. WiFi was accessible in the 'breakfast' room and outdoors had a big courtyard with tables, garbage cans, recycle bins and ashtrays. That area was closed nightly at 11 to keep the partiers quiet, which we appreciated.

Many restaurants within a short walk as well as drug stores, markets and the famous Murray's Bagels! Best bagels and cream cheese to die for! You are also not far from the "Upstart Brigade Theatre" as well as bigger shopping areas. Maybe a 10 minute walk to the "High Line", walking distance to the Meat Packing District, more restos and shops..10 minutes on subway to Times Square or anywhere really! The Chelsea International Hostel just made a great, convenient place to access all that NYC has to offer but is in a neighborhood that is safe and quiet.

Unfortunately 'Superstorm Sandy' was on it's way so we left about 12 hrs early to head back to Canada (I like to think of it as our evacuation bus)...Chelsea was affected by Sandy as were many areas of NYC. When we returned we heard of a building facade a few blocks away had fallen away. But was heartwarming to hear of the stories of community and aid that followed. I do know the power was out and flooding where we had stayed, but to what extent I am not sure.

I would certainly recommend the CIH and I would certainly return again...maybe again this October!

Room Tip: First or second floor if you can get it...just the narrow hall is hard to maneuver a large suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed over the new year period in NYC, and we were expecting accommodation to be expensive. This hostel allowed us (myself and my two other girls) to stay right in the thick of the city for a reasonable price for New York, about $70 ea per night. While the facilities weren't amazing, we were expecting this. The hostel is in a fabulous location, a 2 min walk in either direction to the subway and the bagels in the morning were pretty good. The rooms were all they needed to be (we stayed in a 3 person private with an ensuite) although in the middle of winter I was needing a few blankets to stay warm through the night.
My only criticisms of the hostel are the fact that it didn't have a communal feeling that I have found in other hostels, and the wifi was a tad temperamental. Other than that, it did the job, we were out for most of our stay anyway.
I would stay again, most probably in a private room as I chatted to a few other people staying in dorms and they commented that it was a little noisy. The private rooms are out the back of the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hostel is perfect located next to Madison Square Garden. With many shops, groceries and the Subway nearby, this place is an excellent hang-out to discover NYC. Staff was friendly and the terrace a great place to get to know other travelers. I would definitely stay again in this hostel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel
Chelsea International Hotel New York City
Address: 251 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 172 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.