We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly fit the title - Best restarant ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
The NoMad Hotel
1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutly fit the title - Best restarant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went to travel around America with few business partners, we decided to try out all the Michelin three mission stars restaurants in whole August(New York only)!! Because we are all big foodies! This hotel comes out is the our favorite ever! we loved chatting to waiters, loved their professional attitude for service. And very good knowledge of food and wine!
Their signature dish truffle chicken for two is just beyond amazing!!! I loved every single dish I had! Cocktail list is pretty average, so skip that.
Did i mention how amazing this hotel looked?! Great location too~
In the end, this hotel is combination of awesomeness!!! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    113
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
204
29
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights with our five year old daughter. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is beautifully designed. Food was delicious. Location was slightly disappointing. We often found it difficult to find food nearby for our daughter especially as the hotel didn't offer a child menu...

We had to request extra coat hangers and our main criticism is that the hotel is really set up for people who are staying for one or two nights. We were travelling for part business and part pleasure and for seven nights there wasn't enough space for us to keep all our clothes.

In summary we really enjoyed staying here. However in future I would probably go back to staying in Greenwich Village or Soho due to more going on in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Nomad during a honeymoon trip to NYC. Part of our criteria when searching for a hotel was that we wanted to avoid somewhere so popular as a bar/restaurant venue, that as staying guests we felt sidelined. Although the Nomad did have an extremely popular and oversubscribed restaurant (and the bar was packed on busy evenings) we were always given some preferred treatment when booking, which was really appreciated.

This was particularly valuable because the area surrounding the hotel is very much an "up and coming" district (as we'd call it in London), and isn't exactly surrounded by upmarket restaurants. You will find great pizza and lunchtime food, but for every restaurant there are about a dozen "wholesale only" costume jewelry stores. This doesn't strecth far though; the flower district is a few blocks away, and there are three different metro lines within a ten-minute walk (one being right on the junction where the hotel sits). The flatiron building is a few minutes' walk.

We had an "atelier" room. It was beautifully decorated, with a varnished wooden floor, flowing curtains (plus blackout shades), a huge clawfoot bathtub and separate WC. It was by no means a very large room, but had a high ceiling and large windows overlooking the neighbourhood so felt spacious. There was (of course) a large TV. One of the only things I felt a bit lacking in the room was that the LG TV has such naff built-in speakers that the volume has to be constantly adjusted depending on what you're watching, and even at almost full volume, the sound quality means a lot of the effect of a film, for example, is lost.

All the staff gave us impeccable service. The dark, chic decor and layout of the hotel give it almost a mysterious atmosphere; there are no fluorescent-tube lines corridors here, but rather dark hallways with twists and turns, with the gym accessible through a practically unmarked door. Even the housekeeping staff walk around with what appear to be designer tote bags. The desk staff are a suave blend of formal and witty, with thin ties and thick rimmed glasses. Walking off the street into the hotel, you definitely feel like you are staying at a luxury place.

We would definitely go back here (it would definitely have to be for a special occasion!) and recommend highly to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 3 days in NYC for our honeymoon. The Nomad hotel made our stay magical.
We particularly loved the view, the general style, the bath in the middle of the room and the location (next to the Empire State Building).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Nomad during a recent three day business trip. No one will mistake 28th Street for Fifth Avenue, but the location is fun (transitional might be a better term) in addition to being convenient to midtown. The Nomad is one of the few chic hotels that combine a great lobby/bar/restaurant with really good accommodations. The Library, Atrium Restaurant and bar are one of the best combinations in NYC. The lobby is simply a blast. It is the rooms that set the Nomad apart from its ever so hip competitors. I got a salon which was a great size (not huge) with nice finishes, hardwood floors and a big bathroom. I really like the Parisian apartment theme. The staff members were all excellent and accommodating. Those who do not like 28th Street will think that the price is very steep and will want to run back to Midtown. But this is NYC, 28th Street is funky fun, the rooms are great and the lobby/restaurant is one of the best scenes in town. I had a great stay.

Room Tip: I got an interior room. Lower rooms that face the street are going to be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We ate the truffle-stuffed chicken in the restaurant and it was the greatest chicken I've ever had in my life. Truffle-stuffed, with like, some other crazy stuff involved - they bring it table-side, and then they take it away and cut it all up and plate it. Amazing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the room had a separate room with a desk/workspace... Spacious, a true luxury in NYC!
of course, my window had the view of a wall half a meter away, but then again, it's NYC!
The bar and restaurants are pretty happening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.