We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
The NoMad Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 3 days in NYC for our honeymoon. The Nomad hotel made our stay magical.
We particularly loved the view, the general style, the bath in the middle of the room and the location (next to the Empire State Building).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    156
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
260
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Nomad during a recent three day business trip. No one will mistake 28th Street for Fifth Avenue, but the location is fun (transitional might be a better term) in addition to being convenient to midtown. The Nomad is one of the few chic hotels that combine a great lobby/bar/restaurant with really good accommodations. The Library, Atrium Restaurant and bar are one of the best combinations in NYC. The lobby is simply a blast. It is the rooms that set the Nomad apart from its ever so hip competitors. I got a salon which was a great size (not huge) with nice finishes, hardwood floors and a big bathroom. I really like the Parisian apartment theme. The staff members were all excellent and accommodating. Those who do not like 28th Street will think that the price is very steep and will want to run back to Midtown. But this is NYC, 28th Street is funky fun, the rooms are great and the lobby/restaurant is one of the best scenes in town. I had a great stay.

Room Tip: I got an interior room. Lower rooms that face the street are going to be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We ate the truffle-stuffed chicken in the restaurant and it was the greatest chicken I've ever had in my life. Truffle-stuffed, with like, some other crazy stuff involved - they bring it table-side, and then they take it away and cut it all up and plate it. Amazing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the room had a separate room with a desk/workspace... Spacious, a true luxury in NYC!
of course, my window had the view of a wall half a meter away, but then again, it's NYC!
The bar and restaurants are pretty happening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at The Nomad for four nights and hated to leave. The location is good, walking to the Flatiron area attractions (Eatily), the Highline (a bit of a hike), Chelsea galleries. And near two subway stations with access around the City (had to connect to other lines at times.) Also central if you are taking car service or taxi.

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and strive to please. Most know the area well and can direct you to some great spots.

The room was decent size - we had an inside room which was very quiet, the bathroom was good and there was a little desk area that was useful. The lobby is busy and not large; went to The Ace around the corner for early morning coffee and snack.

The food at their in hotel restaurant (also called The Nomad) was outstanding, an attraction on its own (have the hotel staff get a reservation for you as it is a bit of a challenge to get a table.) One of the best NYC meals we have had. The also have "The Library" which is a good place for drinks.

All in all a great property and location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was quite large, the bath in the room quirky but fun and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were helpful and the restaurant for dinner was very good. location is two blocks from the Empire State Building and two blocks north of Tribeca and great shopping/ restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and think it is a beautiful place in a good location.. the rooms are decent sized for NYC and if you get one with a tub USE IT because its amazing.. the staff are all very kind and attentive, they get to know your name and make you feel at home..
the only issue I have with the place is the heavy doors.. they SLAM closed unless you control them all the way, I am always in hotels so i am aware and take the time to close the door softly but many guests don't think of this courtesy.

they have interior rooms, this is a BONUS when looking for a quiet NYC hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#35 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Manhattan
Ace Hotel New York
Ace Hotel New York
#202 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#16 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.