We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
The NoMad Hotel
1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great hotel, loved the decor, had a beautiful view of the Empire State Building from our Atelier room and had a wonderful 6 nights here. We drank in the bar, snacked in the Library and on the final night ate in the amazing restaurant.

My husband never orders chicken as he says its boring, however I forced him to share the house specialty Roast Chicken dish and we are both still dreaming about how delicious it was. If you get the opportunity - order it and you will see what I mean.

Bath in room cute, toilettries excellent. After first staying on the Upper East it was nice to move to a midtown hotel. A very short walk to Eataly where we had our morning coffee - the best we had in NY. Also within walking distance to my favourite store - ABC Carpet & Home.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Empire State Building on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    113
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
204
28
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I couldn't ask for a better experience than I had at the NoMad Hotel. From the moment we dropped off our car (parking was cheaper at the hotel than at the garage across the street and it was with a valet service), we were treated like royalty. Check in was a breeze. We went in for a cocktail and to confirm our reservations for dinner and 3 people immediately helped us. Our drinks were great and they got us a table in the Library to continue our pre-dinner drinks and appetizers. Service and food were above anyone's expectations-a great chef is at the Hotel. Our room had a beautiful view of the Empire state Building, a great claw foot tub, and lots of room. Can't say nice enough things about our memorable visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel room was absolutely incredible, very different to other hotels Ive stayed at. The hotel and my room was unique just as NYC is. My sister and I attended cooking classes at ICE. We ate great Italian food at Eataly and finished it with a scoop of gelato. All of this was within walking distance. The hotel had a hospitality car to get us around when we wanted to go to Soho area.
I would like to give a great big thanks to Dee who took great care of all the guests coming and going out of the hotel. His personality was perfect for a hotel like Nomad...one of a Kind. thank you again....it was a great stay....

carol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have enjoyed a number of visits to Nomad over the last year. Always enjoy the rooms, the rooftop and the library. Management has done a nice job of recognizing customer loyalty and remembering the details. Thoughtful upgrades and attention to the little things make this hotel a great experience.

The Royale Suite is nothing short of amazing. Best room I've stayed in in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Boutique French feel. High quality furniture and fittings. Big bed and very comfortable. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and have a slightly larger room on the 12th floor (next floor is the Penthouse). Location wise is smack bang in the middle of Manhattan, not the nicest of surroundings (lots of $ shops) but the area is changing for the better and convenient if you're staying for a few days like we were. If you like to feel like you're on a film set or just feel special then make sure you head to the bar or into the library for a drink. It was like being transported into a the early 20th century. It was all very glamorous. Staff were all very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This gem of a hotel has just made a BIG leap towards becoming my home when I'm in New York. Located in Midtown, it's easy to get everywhere. Having stayed for four nights in April, here are my thoughts:

Pros:
- perfect rooms: comfortable bed, good quality wooden floor, comfortable (and good looking) furniture
- three elevators mean you don't have to wait a long time for one
- the staff (front desk and bellboys) could not have been more hospitable
- great cappuccino at breakfast
- turndown service
- reliable WiFi
- beautifully appointed lobby with lots of space to hang out
- perfect guest mix: domestic/international, different ages, well turned out
- iron/ironing board in room

Cons:
- breakfast service slow at times

Tips:
- stay in a Salon room
- request a room with a city view
- have the granola with berries for breakfast alongside the smoothie made with almond milk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rooms were fantastic.
The restaurant and bar were fantastic and always full.
Probably the only downside to the hotel is that it can not seat groups of 5 or more easily.
The bar is small and always busy. The library bar is more spacious and a great place to sit.

The hotel staff was really helpful and proud of the hotel.

The workout facility is not quite the state of the art health club they claim it to be, but you can certainly get a great workout in. It's well kept.

There are some fun views and the pictures speak for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.