We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
The NoMad Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were very happy about our choice. The NoMad Hotel is a charming and beautifully restored building in the Flatiron district. The room, with its hardwood floors and high ceilings, was so cozy and full of little details all in perfect French style so that I felt back in my hometown. The bed was extremely confortable with a plush-top mattress and down conforter and pillows. We loved sitting at the Library lounge with a drink while watching the sophisticated New York crowd. One night we tried the restaurant and we had some delicious food that we are still talking about.
We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    131
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
228
33
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I didn't stay here and only met friends for drinks in the Library, but it gave me a good sense of the hotel. The entrance to the Hotel is a little too understated for my taste, The vestibule directly off the street is oddly (but I assume deliberately) spartan and the flow towards the tiny lobby is awkward. The public spaces of this hotel are almost non-existent. So if you're looking to stay at a hotel where you can relax in the lobby and just hang out, this probably isn't the hotel for you. If you want to meet friends for for drinks here, do it early, before 5:00. It gets really busy and hard to get a table or seat anywhere. That said, it's a quiet location for getting to the Flatiron District, Midtown or Downtown. It doesn't feel remotely touristy. Maybe it's because I'm a New Yorker, but the staff was very friendly and approachable. Absolutely none of the pose and model attitude one finds at some trendy hotels.

So, meeting up with friends here . . . Yes, the drinks are pricey, but they are very well done, and their cocktail menu has some interesting offerings. The menu for "bar bites" could have a little more in terms of offerings, but the little chicken appetizer I had was the perfect little snack before dinner. The tiny library space is really charming. (One has to walk through the lobby and Atrium to get to it.) I felt like I was on the set of "My Fair Lady," and that Audrey Hepburn would float down the spiral staircase any moment. It's a small, intimate space, but it you can grab a table during one of the quieter periods, it's a great place to meet a friend. Once 5:00 hits, though, your experience will be very different and possibly frustrating. The place gets PACKED!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hello

We stayed 4 nights at the Nomad in Atelier room.
The room was really nice nothing to say about it and the reception was perfect.

The point was mostly around the restaurant and bar. The breakfast is very expensive, we have tried it once and it doesn't worth it... If you would like to have a drink at the hotel bar you better be very good looking guy (or girl), if not, no way to get in even if you are at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at The NoMad hotel for 3 nights and loved it. Our room faced a courtyard but the trade off was it was nice and quiet. So nice not to stay in a cookie cutter big box chain hotel. This place has charm. We secured reservations for dinner on the roof and enjoyed the al fresco atmosphere.Breakfast off the lobby was also elegant and delicious.
I liked the proximity to Union Square since I always have to visit the Green Market, and loved discovering Eataly. The price is worth it for this lovely hotel, and the location is great.

Room Tip: It's really not necessary to upgrade your room unless you need the extra space. I'd rather h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There is a hipster hotel around the corner that is a little too cool for school, while the NoMad delivers a luxury, cool experience without trying to hard. The room I stayed in was stunning with the most comfortable bed in the quietest New York City room I have ever enjoyed. The staff was young and cool but warm and welcoming. The restaurant looked like the place to be - I will definitely have to check it out during my next visit. I would recommend to anyone looking for a midtownish hotel away from the norm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night and would suggest it was one of the most divine places I have stayed amongst many in the USA or Europe. Its artistic rooms and sense of service are exceptional to see.

In a marketing driven world where some are convinced that scraping every dollar of a deal will make them great, The NoMad leads us in another direction with not so subtle implications we were going the wrong way before. Of course, it's expensive, but I won't apologize even once for staying there in the light of art blended with comfort.

I would suggest going for the King suite as I did and enjoying yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The NoMad is obviously a trendy hotel because it has a capital M in the middle. And to a large extent it lives up to its capitalisation. The welcome is friendly. The room was very comfortable - boutique in a Louis Quatorze kind of way. Big TV comfortable bed.. The spacious bathroom still did not have a bath and suffered from the usual New York bathroom issue - not a shelf in sight. The restaurant is a hot ticket in NYC as is the bar. We went down for drink one night but had no hope of getting to the bar it was so busy - and you need to book the restaurant. However all things considered its perfectly good hotel. At $425 a night it was probably not top value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.