We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and stylish NYC boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Save Saved
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and stylish NYC boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience when staying three nights at The NoMad hotel. The hotel is nicely located, it is very clean and the beds, sheets and pillows are awesome (one of the key things when you travel from the other side of the world... : )
The room pictures you see on the website matches the reality well. And I have to say we even felt that the room was even nicer than we thought beforehand.

The bar was also cool! Nice drinks and vibrant athmosphere.
Good job - will definately be back!
Travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    106
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
192
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I live in Asia at the moment, and when I say Asian standard, it's a compliment.

The NoMad is a normal hotel in most other ways - but there were several examples of really out-of-their-way service - including moving us when the room wasn't ideal. Luke was one of our heroes during our stay.

Other good bits ... Cool hotel with a quirky history, great location, good food.

Some thoughts ... In-room dining menu could be made a bit wider, and during our stay there were some noise issues (however management dealt with these really, well).

Room 414, or any of the 14s, is a good sized room for three people (two adults, one child).

Thanks

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just outside NYC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've already booked another night and we live 12 miles away which probably says it all. The NoMad is perfect if you grew up wanting to run off to Paris to write, read Rimbaud at a sidewalk cafe while sipping Pernod, and your idea of a perfect day was wandering the Left Bank searching for old photographs and antique post cards. It will conjure all that and more the second you step in the door. Yes, the doormen all look amazing because they're wearing suits by Bespoken. Yes, you should have thought about making a reservation for dinner when you booked your room, because it is Daniel Humm who conceived the casually perfect menu and the tables fill up early. But there's 24 hour rooms service to console if you just didn't know. Yes, it's dark. And dramatic. Just going to the public restrooms is going to feel like an adventure. Your bed is going to be heaven, the bath products divine (did you know that Argan oil comes from a tree so scarce it is protected by UNESCO?), and you'll probably start writing the Great American Novel from the little desk in your room (but on the iPad they'll lend you from the front desk, of course). Views outside as the sun sets remind you of Georgia O'Keeffe's NYC views as she was just warming up to what she would become. In short - this is a destination hotel - and is going to evoke all manner of things artful. The staff is suitably sublime.
My five stars are based on the hotel delivering exactly what it sets out to do. Is this the place to bring the kids? No. House your relatives from Schenectady? Not really. It will not be everyone's cup of tea, or latte which is just fine, or it would be come impossible to get a reservation. Which is just fine with me.

Room Tip: We had a suite and the bathrooms are truly spectacular. But we're going to try all the various r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Visited for 10th anniversary stay in Manhattan. Conveniently situated between Macy's, the Flatiron building and the Empire State Building. The room was spacious and well laid out. Service was friendly and efficient and the hotel has a great bar area and other public rooms. Bell boys were prepared to move heaven and earth to get you a cap at the busiest times. recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

At first we were not sure of the location as we have always stayed elsewhere. But the Nomad has found just the right spot. There is everying you need close by but you fell like you are in an oasis once you walk throught the door. The staff are brilliant, the rooms amazing the bar so cool, the library an haven of peace and tranquility.
The rates are really good too.
For the hotest, hipest new hotel in town try the Nomad. Its a wnner

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Choosing a hotel in NYC is a difficult task - too many times, you end up in a tiny room, or a place with bad service, or both.

The NoMad Hotel is different. It's brand new (opened in April '12), but does not feel that way. The little reception counter handles all your needs, very efficiently, and you immediately notice the noise from the bar & restaurant on the ground floor - definitely a place to be in NY these days.
Our room (we chose an Atelier room) was surprisingly big and very, very cosy. The free standing classic bathtub is not only a design element, but comes very handy after a day of shopping and running around. The bed was big and comfortable, sleep quality was excellent, even though the room was situated on the Broadway side (6th floor).

We had dinner at the NoMad restaurant (reserve early, it's one of the hot spots in NY). At 7pm, it was already packed with people, but service was quick & excellent, and the food outstanding (the whole roasted chicken with truffle and foie gras stuffing - out of this world!).

Bell captains and doormen were helpful. If there is anything to criticize, it would probably be the timing of the room makeup (a little late some days), and the difficulties of finding a taxi at some times of the day.

Otherwise, it's perfect for any kind of stay in NY - a Subway station round the corner provides quick transport up- as well as downtown, and the room is a nice refuge after a busy day (or night). Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First things first, The Nomad is not a luxury hotel, it's a boutique hotel. That means loads of style, a lot of substance, but still, a small property that provides an exclusive and fun experience without being up there with the Peninsula, the Four Seasons, or even the Mark. To give it an "excellent" rating, I would need the orchestral virtuosity this lovely gem doesn't give, nor wants to.

That said, I loved it.

The beaux-arts building is just lovely, although the precise Broadway block it stands in is perhaps the shabbiest below 120th street. I understand the location has been an issue, but I for one had never spent any time in lower midtown/flatiron, and the area has a lot of great things to offer. And it is a very central base from which to go to anywhere, from downtown to the upper east side.

The lobby's interior design is beautiful and strikes a somewhat theatrical tone, scaled down a bit in the restaurant and bar. You do have to cross the restaurant to go to the bar which I found uncomfortable. Once at the adorable library room, you probably won't care how you got there.

The room was seriously cool. Very spacious, light flooded, beautifully decorated. Great mini bar selection, bedside iphone dock, lovely art work. I loved the tub, and used it a couple of times.
There were no drawers in the closet, so I kept my underwear in the desk drawers and the folded shirts in the TV/mini chest. There's more than enough space to put a small four drawer chest in the room, so I hope Monsieur Garcia comes up with a solution.

Service was courteous and friendly throughout. I did ask for a cup of coffee while sitting in the lobby, and was charged 4 dollars for an expresso in a paper cup, hardly acceptable. The doormen talked a lot with each other while attending the door, and were uneven in friendliness. After the first night, and having been given a room on the third floor, I asked to move to an upper floor, due to the street noise and trembling of the subway. The request was addressed promptly, and in the most accommodative fashion.

Would I recommend the Nomad? Of course. I do however feel that for a long stay it is not the most advisable property, and the location might be off putting for those seeking immediate action at their doorstep. I would most definitely recommend it for 3 night stays, specially if you have a lot of different locations to go to, as it is so central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;