We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique style NYC hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Save Saved
You added The NoMad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 451 hotels in New York City
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique style NYC hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Choosing a hotel in NYC is a difficult task - too many times, you end up in a tiny room, or a place with bad service, or both.

The NoMad Hotel is different. It's brand new (opened in April '12), but does not feel that way. The little reception counter handles all your needs, very efficiently, and you immediately notice the noise from the bar & restaurant on the ground floor - definitely a place to be in NY these days.
Our room (we chose an Atelier room) was surprisingly big and very, very cosy. The free standing classic bathtub is not only a design element, but comes very handy after a day of shopping and running around. The bed was big and comfortable, sleep quality was excellent, even though the room was situated on the Broadway side (6th floor).

We had dinner at the NoMad restaurant (reserve early, it's one of the hot spots in NY). At 7pm, it was already packed with people, but service was quick & excellent, and the food outstanding (the whole roasted chicken with truffle and foie gras stuffing - out of this world!).

Bell captains and doormen were helpful. If there is anything to criticize, it would probably be the timing of the room makeup (a little late some days), and the difficulties of finding a taxi at some times of the day.

Otherwise, it's perfect for any kind of stay in NY - a Subway station round the corner provides quick transport up- as well as downtown, and the room is a nice refuge after a busy day (or night). Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    99
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
172
25
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First things first, The Nomad is not a luxury hotel, it's a boutique hotel. That means loads of style, a lot of substance, but still, a small property that provides an exclusive and fun experience without being up there with the Peninsula, the Four Seasons, or even the Mark. To give it an "excellent" rating, I would need the orchestral virtuosity this lovely gem doesn't give, nor wants to.

That said, I loved it.

The beaux-arts building is just lovely, although the precise Broadway block it stands in is perhaps the shabbiest below 120th street. I understand the location has been an issue, but I for one had never spent any time in lower midtown/flatiron, and the area has a lot of great things to offer. And it is a very central base from which to go to anywhere, from downtown to the upper east side.

The lobby's interior design is beautiful and strikes a somewhat theatrical tone, scaled down a bit in the restaurant and bar. You do have to cross the restaurant to go to the bar which I found uncomfortable. Once at the adorable library room, you probably won't care how you got there.

The room was seriously cool. Very spacious, light flooded, beautifully decorated. Great mini bar selection, bedside iphone dock, lovely art work. I loved the tub, and used it a couple of times.
There were no drawers in the closet, so I kept my underwear in the desk drawers and the folded shirts in the TV/mini chest. There's more than enough space to put a small four drawer chest in the room, so I hope Monsieur Garcia comes up with a solution.

Service was courteous and friendly throughout. I did ask for a cup of coffee while sitting in the lobby, and was charged 4 dollars for an expresso in a paper cup, hardly acceptable. The doormen talked a lot with each other while attending the door, and were uneven in friendliness. After the first night, and having been given a room on the third floor, I asked to move to an upper floor, due to the street noise and trembling of the subway. The request was addressed promptly, and in the most accommodative fashion.

Would I recommend the Nomad? Of course. I do however feel that for a long stay it is not the most advisable property, and the location might be off putting for those seeking immediate action at their doorstep. I would most definitely recommend it for 3 night stays, specially if you have a lot of different locations to go to, as it is so central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moraira
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Odd location, we had a very pleasant room, great bed, very comfortable sofa, very Parisian, staff were excellent, we had. lunch and dinner whilst we were there, I was not a great fan of dinner, but the lunch was excellent the chicken was terrifically tasty I just wished they had allowed me the wings. I understand all of the bones are removed for stock making purposes, however 74 dollars for a chicken is not cheap but there you go.... NYC in all its media glory. Lovely public areas, a very pleasant library oddly with music. Would definitely stay again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night during the NYC Wine & Food Festival and had a great experience. I would definitely recommend this place, to anyone looking to stay in an upscale NYC boutique hotel for a weekend. The restaurant and library bar is also equally fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great serves, clean well appointed room, nice bed with great sheets and soft pillows will keep me coming back. Bell men new the naborhood like the back of there hand and were able to direct us to every thing we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is in a strange spot on Broadway, great if you want to buy a wig, cellphone or cheap knockoff purse tho! But the hotel more than makes up for the neighbors, staff is attentive, bar and restaurant very nice, and the rooms are different than you will find anywhere else. The toilet closet is small but clean and warm, with a seperate shower(nice) and sink in the room. Bed was very nice. Its pricey I thought, but very nice. I'd stay again if I was to be in that part of town. (short walk to Flatiron district).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at this boutique Hotel for the first time and was really impressed. From the decor of the reception area to the decor of the room itself everything was creative, comfy and inviting. The room has a large, white, claw-footed bathtub and an ingenious bathroom area, hidden behind an upholstered screen. Every inch of space was used well and with a great sense of style.The bed was super comfortable too.This is definitely a treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The NoMad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.