We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical experience at its very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep No More

Sleep No More
530 W 27th St, The McKittrick Hotel, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Theatrical experience at its very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I knew of Punchdrunk from their celebrated appearance at the Manchester International Festival (UK) though it was sold out.

I read some of the reviews so thought I knew what to expect. I also know my Macbeth. We booked in for the dinner beforehand so we would not be rushing.

The dinner was excellent - in the near dark - so you could not be sure exactly what you were eating though it tasted great. It was interesting to meet other guests - swap thought on the show.

They spilt up groups to lead them to the "start" - and so they should because it is an experience not a show. Your reaction to what you see and touch is personal and it seems everyone finds something different.

Don't expect a linear narrative, a clear denouement or that much of Macbeth!

It's more than unique, brilliant, inventive, acrobatic, clever, funny - it's disturbing, voyeuristic, baffling.

The music, sets and ensemble pieces, if you catch them, are incredible - especially the two dinner scenes.

No more - do go!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    120
    52
    30
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must check all bags!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The show is awesome, just know that you are required to check everything at the front, including purses. Make sure you have pockets otherwise you will have to carry your cash and coat check ticket in your hand. Hide your phone or you will have to check that too. They are super rude and obnoxious about it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very odd, in a memorable kind of way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Leave your purse at home (or you'll have to check it... even if you're carrying your passport). Plan to spend 3-4 hours in the "hotel" ... and if you go with friends, split up. It'll be a more personal experience that way. It's definitely not a schmaltzy musical - about as opposite as you can get.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So different! Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sleep no more has been our most exiting experience in New York. We did not know what to expect and the surprise was great. I would strongly recommend to experience it.

This immersive journey into the hotel has to be personal. Do not stay with your beloved ones and make your own story...

The welcome drink was a bit expensive but we appreciated the jazz band at the
end.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't read about it just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our favourite attraction in NY during our trip in October 2012. It is a walking theatre production. I won't ruin it for you but go in knowing the story of Hamlet, wear comfortable clothes and shoes and generally look for the crowd, they usually gather where a scene is happening. Do not bring valuables you will have to check in everything and do not pay extra to drink in the bar after, it is much too crowded hot and loud. Go to the bar next door instead.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleep No More also viewed

 

Been to Sleep No More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep No More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.