We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms needs updating, terrible noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Millenium Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Millenium Hilton to your Saves list
Millenium Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter rates from $149
Ranked #234 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rooms needs updating, terrible noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed at the Millenium Hilton NYC 18-23 December 2013. My room was on the 31st floor, we experienced terrible lift motor noise all holiday which was unbearable at times it was 24 hours a day. The rooms are in need of updating. I have stayed at this hotel several times but would think about staying here again as standards have gone down. Which is a shame, as it was my favourite in NYC due to its great location.At times I turned up the AC to cover the lift noise. Several of the lifts were not working for the duration of our stay, and at times we waited 20 minutes to catch a lift.

Room Tip: Not 31st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Front Office Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear you experienced some noise from the elevators and your air conditioning unit during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent, quiet, working condition and we are sorry to hear you didn’t experience that. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in the city as we’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience you’ve ever had.

Thank you,
Matt

Matthew Lane
Director of Front Office Operations
Millenium Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    1,015
    405
    151
    71
See reviews for
440
893
210
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Overall the location is great, however if you need ANY help, do not ask the front desk or guest services because you will be treated terrible. Cleanliness was great and location, that is about it. Temperature control does not exist, you cannot turn on or off your thermostat, only the fan!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is close to the financial district. If you have business there it is convenient. The staff in the lobby does act a bit like a clique however and their interaction with each other and their personal conversations take precedence over the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved our stay here.Junior suite with fantastic views. Super clean and great staff! Will definitely go back! Great access to the subway and a few stops to all the great attractions.
We are Hilton gold members and were very impressed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Upon checking into our room, we encountered a lot of noise, which we believed to be from the construction across the street. We returned to the front desk to request a less noisy room, we we told no, because we booked our reservation via Expedia, which was not the case. The Front Desk Agent told us the 95% of their rooms face the construction site(WTC/911 Memorial) and never even offered any solutions. The noise turned out to be from the air vents and elevators. On two occasions we contacted the guest services to report an issue (movie/late check out) and the messages were never given to the respective departments. Overall the hotel is very nice, great location, convenient access to the subway and the rooms are very nice(did not think they were small as others have said). Had our experience with the staff not been negative and left us feeling like second class guest, we would have rated this hotel higher and given it a better rating. Word of advice to the front desk/check-in....guests pay your salary and regardless of the situation, you should at least try to make things better or more satisfying to everyone...not just those who have Hilton Rewards....maybe if we had, we would have seriously considered signing up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is mostly a business hotel located in the financial district. However on holidays and weekends one can often get very nice room rates suitable for travellers. The hotel meets every modern standard. The rooms are large by New York City Standards. The bathrooms are nice. The water pressure is very good. There is parking. There is subway access about a block away. There is a Starbucks around the corner. My wife and I stayed there, most recently, over Christmas. We had a room with a great view of the World Trade Center site, being able to see the site was very moving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel stay was divided into two parts

Checkin:

Terrible, terrible experience. The hispanic lady was very cold and unwelcoming despite my HHonors status. Despite telling her many times that I spoke to the hotel the night before, she would not honor any of my perks I get with my HHonors. She also had the audacity to put a note on my hhonors account. She ruined my 2nd anniversary and it was trully astonishing and appaling experienxe. I did not expect such treatment for a diamond member

After the checkin, in the afternoon, the hotel upgraded to a suite and sent us a card with some gfts to apologiz for the service. It was very good and I appreciated the gesture.

Other than the checkin experience, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millenium Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millenium Hilton

Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millenium Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millenium Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millenium Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.