We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, clean, lovely hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Chinatown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #79 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect, clean, lovely hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel was the perfect combination of reasonably priced, newly opened and well-reviewed and it didn't disappoint.
Staff were absolutely lovely and would bend over backwards for us.
Location is good, it's in Chinatown so it can get a bit chaotic but it's right on Bowery which is a funky street with loads of cafés, diners, bars and good nightlife. Walk to subway not too bad (couple of blocks), walk to financial district about 20 mins, a good 45-60 mins to midtown but worth doing at least once to see some bits of the city tourists miss.
Hotel itself meticulously clean and we requested a city view and we were not disappointed, we were on a high floor, I think 12th, and could see the Empire State Building day and night. So beautiful, we slept with the curtains open so we could gaze out of the floor-to-ceiling windows.
Just lovely

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    292
    50
    13
    11
See reviews for
150
390
70
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I don't even know where to begin...from the moment we arrived many hours before check-in time, the staff at the Wyndham Gardens was more than accomodating. From treating us so nicely to doing little extras, such as explaining a subway map, this hotel is top notch. The room we had boasted a fabulous view with the floor to ceiling windows, clean, clean, clean! Happy Hour was fun, watching the staff interact with other staff and guests should be used as an example to others on how to treat people. Negative reviews? Baahh! Some people are just miserable and wish to spread that icky stuff. I utilized the workout room three mornings, and we also took advantage of the dramatic views from the rooftop lounge! I felt this was an absolutely wonderful place to stay, and am already planning my next visit....I would highly recommend this place to anybody who wishes to see the city. Midst of Chinatown, 2 blocks from Little Italy, down the street and around the corner to the subway where you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city, and a bus stop less than a half block away. Thank you Wyndham, and all your staff, for giving us the BEST NY vacation resting place anybody could ask for!

Room Tip: Remember this is Chinatown....hustle, bustle...corner rooms are key to dynamite views, spend the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our awesome front desk, bell staff and housekeeping staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My Samsonite luggage lock was tampered with. Thank goodness that it stayed locked and no one was able to get into my luggage, which contained a laptop and sensitive information. But I had to have the lock cut off by maintenance. Throughout the episode, the staff at the front desk conveniently played dumb, pretending not to understand that someone had tampered with lock while I was out of the room.

This is very disconcerting and poor service. I do not recommend this location because of the lack of security and tolerance for people's belongings. I'm very disappointed Wyndham would franchise to such a low standard of hotel manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are sorry for any inconvenience; however, security is of the utmost importance. We appreciate your feedback from your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We appreciate your insight and I would like to discuss your experience further with you. At your convenience, I can be reached at 646-329-3400. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent 7 nights here earlier this year and enjoyed our stay. Staff were extremely accommodating to our last minute change in plans and allowed for a rollaway bed to be added to our room for a reasonable price.

The room itself was smaller than I expected but I can understand why it would be the norm for Manhattan - very little space once the extra bed was put in but this was our fault for changing plans when it was too late to book a twin. It was clean and well maintained. As others have mentioned, the shower sprays out into the bathroom which is a little frustrating but housekeeping happily provided extra towels. Staff were all lovely and friendly throughout our stay. Our room was on the 2nd floor and I was initially worried that traffic would disturb us throughout the night but the sound insulation is actually pretty good. Main negative is the terrace outside the room - it is communal so have to keep curtains closed the entire time for privacy.

Location wise, it was really convenient. The nearest Subway is less than 5 mins walk and Little Italy and SoHo are both on your doorstep. Saying that, Chinatown is not the best location as it is not clean and the smell of raw meat and fish is really off-putting.

Did not use hotel bar or restaurant so can't comment on this - so many wonderful places in Little Italy at a fraction of the price!

Overall, I would recommend the nice rooms, friendly staff and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Most excellent - your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and we are happy to know that it shows. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you and we look forward to being able to do it again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located in the heart of Chinatown. Easy to locate and close to everything. I had a reservation and the check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The room was big and bright. VERY CLEAN and appears new. Very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with soaps and plenty of towels. Quiet/soundproof room with no disturbances. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our hotel was able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel I was unsure what to expect.
Thankfully, it was as several of the reviews had said.
I was pleasantly and happily surprised.
The room was very nice. The floor to ceiling windows was awesome! Also we got some beautiful pictures of the nighttime skyline from the rooftop bar. Absolutely beautiful!
The bellhop, Ling, was a great help and very polite. The bar staff also greeted us on the elevator earlier in the day and when we went up to take photo's.
I Do Not recommend the hotel restaurant for breakfast. It took 30 minutes for 4 of us to get scrambled eggs, which were close to raw, some sort of potatoes and raw bacon. All of which were cold! Everyone's!
You Can mess up breakfast and they did, badly.
I would def recommend this location to anyone! Just no breakfast!
Be prepared for the overflowing shower and you'll be ok. We did fairly well since we were ready for it! Lol.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such a wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Wyndham Garden in NYC located in Chinatown, just steps away from shopping and fine dining in Little Italy, Soho, Lower East Side and Tribeca. Our property offers a host of valuable amenities to provide our guests with an exceptional experience while visiting New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.