We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Chinatown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Chinatown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #77 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Find in Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed here with my mom over Easter weekend last month for 5 nights. We normally stay more uptown but found a great deal online for the Wyndham. The location was excellent and allowed us to explore a new neighborhood, which we ended up loving and didn't really venture past 14th street in the end, except to shop. The rooms were very clean and the staff were incredibly accommodating. We asked to change rooms as we had previously been given one queen bed and the staff made sure we were given a room with an even better view than the one we had originally been assigned. The subway was around the corner and there was a whole foods about a 7 minute walk away. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! It also sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and had a lovely time in New York City. We'll be looking forward to your stay at the beautiful Wyndham Garden Chinatown Hotel!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    307
    54
    13
    12
See reviews for
153
412
72
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great stay at Wyndham Garden Chinatown. Room designs are modern and clever (glass partitions as part of bathroom wall -- cool). Views uptown are spectacular. Fantastic location for lots of things. Omar skillfully directs a wonderful staff. We're definitely going to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and we agree with you 100% about our room designs - they are cool and modern! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel, and are happy to know that it shows. Thanks again, and we will be looking forward to your return! Take care!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a modern (under two years old) and professionally run hotel close to Chinatown, Soho and L.E.S. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel seems safe (staff who were alert, elevator use requires key, quality doors in rooms, fire detection and sprinkler systems, etc.)

Our room was not particularly large, but perfectly OK (most rooms are small in NYC), and it was clean and tidy when we arrived (and the cleaning staff did a great job during our stay, too). We found the room very comfortable and it had a magnificent view of the Empire State Building/Midtown. There is also a large roof terrace on the 19th floor with a breathtaking 360 degrees view (we skipped the entire trip to the Empire State Building because of this)!

Top Queen Size bed with quality linens, refrigerator, spacious safe for laptop and passports etc, coffee/tea machine, sufficient electrical outlets (important!), iron/ironing board. The water pressure was good, and the bathroom had lots of thick towels and a hairdryer.

Many hotels have free, but poorly functioning Wi-Fi. That is not an issue at Wyndham Garden! We used the web extensively and without any problems. In the lobby there is also a PC for free use, not to mention a connected printer that made it easy to print our boarding passes before going home. We ordered Room service/used the hotel restaurant a couple of times, and the food was yummy.

Nearest subway station (Grand Street, B/D train) is about a 5 minutes walk and we had no problems getting quickly to Central Park, Times Square and other popular sites. We recommend purchasing a 7 day unlimited MTA-pass for $30. The hotel booked a taxi for us to Newark Airport, it worked great with their regular contacts - and a flat rate was arranged.

Heartfelt thanks to the Director of Rooms Omar Bouchaar, Katie, Hermin, and all the other members of the hotel staff who made our 10-days stay to such a nice experience, we would love to come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: If possible; order a room on about 8th floor or higher - to get a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Efficient Ventilation system. Hotel encouraging guests to Green Practices:-)
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
It's so wonderful to receive this great feedback. Thank you for all of the attention to details which we find are important in making one's stay nothing short of amazing. I especially appreciate the kind review of so many members of our team. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. It was our pleasure hosting you during your stay in New York and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel is in a good location for exploring Chinatown and Little Italy and the rest of the downtown area. When booking see if you can book a room on the north side of the hotel looking uptown and the view of the empire state building at night is magnificent.

Room Tip: book a room on the north side of the hotel looking uptown and the view of the empire state building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Very nice! We are delighted you enjoyed the view from your room and your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our stay at Wyndham Garden Chinatown was faboulous! All of the staff were great. Especially the Director of Rooms, Omar Bouchaar, was really friendly, professional and helpful, and made our stay very pleasant. We were lucky to get a room on the 11th floor with a magnificent view uptown! Omar made sure that we got a room on the same floor as our parents (travelling with us), and we also got a baby crib for our little 9 month year old baby (was in our room when we arrived). Everything was just in place.

The hotel is modern, clean and tidy, and the beds were nice. All in all, a great experience!

Thanks to Omar and the staff for a great stay! We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room high up. If you are lucky, you get a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are pleased to know that you had a "faboulous" and "very pleasant" stay with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. It's so wonderful to receive this great feedback. We look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future and hopefully for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Got a great deal on this hotel, so even though we wouldn't have stayed in Chinatown normally, it worked out. Convenient to the subway, two different lines 2 and 5 blocks away, felt safe, very clean, and brand new. Free high speed internet was a great plus. Bathrooms were new, but glass partition instead of door made for a very wet bathroom post-shower - but that was the only issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, that we could be a convenience for your needs while here in the city. With today's economy, we understand how important it is to offer competitive prices, and we strive to make sure that our service value far exceeds that. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.

Best regards,
Omar Bouchaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Wyndham Garden in NYC located in Chinatown, just steps away from shopping and fine dining in Little Italy, Soho, Lower East Side and Tribeca. Our property offers a host of valuable amenities to provide our guests with an exceptional experience while visiting New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.