We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for a bachelor party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Chinatown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #94 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    372
    70
    13
    15
See reviews for
180
490
89
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, best rate I could find on Manhattan in a hotel that was 3+ stars. Certainly worth it to stay here as the Subway station (Grand) is right around the corner and only 3 or 4 stops (express train) to Times Square.

Downside is that the surrounding neighbourhood leaves a bit to be desired for me anyway. No NYC bagels or cheesecakes here, as it is right in the middle of Chinatown (it is in the name of the hotel after all). We ended up walking East a few blocks to the Lower East side, lots of good stuff over there or take the subway up 1 station to the Broadway area.

Room - Very nice, floor to ceiling windows, bigger than some NYC rooms, but still small. Terrible shower design, it is impossible to have a shower without soaking the floor, something they will have to fix .

Bar - Was alright, seemed a bit unprofessional
Restaurant - Went there for breakfast, thought it would be fancier than it was, only cost $15 for both of us so that was worth it. We ordered room service once too, good pricing again.

Room Tip: Higher = views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We completely understand that our hotel may not be for everyone, especially those used to more traditional hotels. Our design is definitely more modern than most hotels out there, but we take pride in providing something truly unique to our guests. All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown are so happy that you enjoyed our staff and service, and we hope to see you next time you're looking to enjoy the carefree lifestyle of beautiful New York City!

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For the deal i got it was a good deal for the price. I was looking for a hotel near the main area of the lower east side close to the bars/restaurants and got this hotel. While this hotel is nice, clean, and has some bars/restaurants in the area. It was a little far off from main area of lower east side about a 10 min walk and in the hustle and bustle of chinatown and 5 min walk from little italy area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown. We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and am sorry to hear that the location was not what you expected. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I spend 4 nights here last week, overall the hotel was great. The location was good for us, with a one block walk to the Subway (B, D lines) that could take us anywhere we wanted to go in Manhattan. Brooklyn is within walking distance, and we hiked across the Williamsburg bridge one day to spend a day in that area. I found the lack of a true grocery/convenience store in the area a small issue, it was a bit of a hike to find beer/pop/chips for the room.

Room was really nice, comfortable bed. we didn't have a great view, being on the 3rd floor, we were looking across at (mostly rundown) Chinatown shops (I should note we booked through Priceline for ~$180/night and I know Priceline/Hotwire customers don't usually get the "choice" rooms). Everything was clean, but as has been mentioned here before the showers in the washroom have only a half door and water sprays out everywhere, housekeeping was great and gave us extra towels to deal with this.

Staff was very friendly and polite throughout the stay, our only major issue came on the last day. When we arrived after a long drive, we opted for the valet parking ($43/night), even though I knew there was cheaper self-parking in the area. It seemed that the convenience of being able to leave it in someone else's hands would be worth a bit extra... and it was until it was time to leave and it took them over 2 hours to get our car ready for us. I know it's another company handling the valet service and not entirely the hotel's fault, but with a 9 hour drive home waiting for us, the difference between leaving at 10AM and leaving at noon was pretty significant.

That experience and the bathrooms prevent me from giving the hotel a 5/5 review, but I would still recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience with waiting 2 hours to get your car from the valet service that you experienced during your stay. That is a very long wait time and your comments have been shared with our management and team. We’re delighted that you chose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Driector of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been on the road for a couple of weeks now, Berlin, Chicago, New York and so far have not picked a dud hotel. The Wyndham Garden Chinatown in New York is no exception ... or maybe it is the exception? Really well equipped room on the seventh floor, with a stunning view up Bowery towards Midtown... Excellent breakfast in the restaurant in the cellar, friendly and helpful staff, and a great night's sleep in a really comfortable bed.

If there's a downside, it's only a downside because of where my meetings were (in Midtown) and that's a bbit of a hike by taxi... I didn't have time to try otther methods of transport.

Best bit? Value for money ... This hotel could show a few others a thing or two ... stay there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, that we could be a convenience for your needs while here in the city. With today's economy, we understand how important it is to offer competitive prices, and we strive to make sure that our service value far exceeds that. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Wyndham Garden in NYC located in Chinatown, just steps away from shopping and fine dining in Little Italy, Soho, Lower East Side and Tribeca. Our property offers a host of valuable amenities to provide our guests with an exceptional experience while visiting New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.