We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Chinatown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #79 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A really great option for a New York stay. We were just looking for something comfortable at a reasonable price but got so much more!
A new, clean, stylish hotel with excellent staff. I nearly fell over when we walked into our room the first night to see magnificent views all the way up to the Empire State building. The windows are floor to ceiling. We were high up and on a corner, even the bathroom has floor to ceiling windows. My husband had slight vertigo at first!
The location is excellent, right in Chinatown but only 2 blocks from Little Italy. We walked all over New York from there but the subway is nearby and taxis are a dime a dozen at the front door and not expensive. We didn't try the restaurant but this is New York, you can get food anywhere, anytime!
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Up high and maybe a corner for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown! It makes us proud to know that our awesome staff were able to take such good care of you. Thank you for your support and recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    328
    60
    13
    13
See reviews for
163
443
76
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been remiss in not writing this review earlier to let people know what a pleasurable experience we had from March 9th through March 13 2013. We took our granddaughter to NYC as part of her high school graduation present.
We will always remember the view through the "virtual" glass wall of our room looking out over Chinatown and Manhattan in general. The night views were amazing.
The location was great. Access to the subway was nearby and restaurants nearby were plentiful.
Most of all, we want to commend two staff (John Chen & Nazim Tabti). John and Nazim were courteous, helpful and ALWAYS smiling. They added even more value and friendly faces to provide assistance and information about NYC during our stay. They are the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased that your stay was a comfortable, welcoming one. We strive to be a "home away from home" to all of our guests. Our hotel prides itself on excellent service and I have shared your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Thank you again we look forward to welcoming you back to Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked in for three but left after two. Service fine, location decent. Room itself was ok I suppose, but the bed was uncomfortable. Aircon was VERY noisy. Over-bath shower with shower curtain felt a bit low-rent. Nice views of the city as promised, but only a communal walk-around balcony with no seating and a tired-looking faux-asphalt mat on the floor for company. From there we saw the room next door had a smashed exterior glass panel. Vibe-free lobby.

Not terrible, but expected more the the money - and sure enough found more elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at the Wyndham Garden Chinatown take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part.

We also understand that our hotel is very unique in regards to the design and the size of our rooms and that the structure of the rooms may not be for everyone. However, from the rave reviews we have received so far from other travelers, we are confident that we are providing a unique and fresh experience for our guests.

I would love an opportunity to discuss your stay and experiences with you directly, and am confident that I can restore your faith in us. I can be contacted at 646-329-3410, or obouchaar@wyndham.com. I look forward hearing back from you!

Sincerely,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything was as it should. Speedy, courteous service at the check-in counter, clean comfortable room. No hassles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I could not be happier with this hotel. The staff was attentive and were always available, the rooms were clean and the view from our balcony was exceptional. We stayed there six days and five nights, and my wife and I have both stated we will only stay there again on our next visit to NYC. Just a block away from the subway, we were able to get anywhere we wanted without any issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our property to be "beyond compare". I have shared your kind remarks with the staff in recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Garden Chinatown in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern room with a magnificent view over manhattan. Close to Little Italy, in the middle of china town, the Wyndham Garden is in an excellent position close to restaurants and shops of lower Manhattan and close to the underground and bus stops to take you to the Art Galleries, Museums and the Theatre district. A room on a high floor is great for the best view.
The hotel is very good value for the price in New York. My only negative is that the rooms are very small and you can hear noisy neighbours.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Garden Hotel Chinatown. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our management and team. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to enjoy shopping and the restuarants of lower Manhattan. We are delighted that you were pleased with all the facilities on offer at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near feature.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very clean (New) hotel. The staff is very friendly but the restaurant was over priced (thus very few diners). Make sure you find the subway stop 1 block over vs. the Canal Street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Wyndham Garden Chinatown. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Omar Bouchaar
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Wyndham Garden in NYC located in Chinatown, just steps away from shopping and fine dining in Little Italy, Soho, Lower East Side and Tribeca. Our property offers a host of valuable amenities to provide our guests with an exceptional experience while visiting New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.