We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST foccacia and biscotti ever!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo

IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo
91 Christopher St, New York City, NY
212 647-8787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,406 of 11,587 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The BEST foccacia and biscotti ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The group I was with, including myself, could not get enough of the tomato and olive focaccia and all the amazing choices of biscotti (the apricot and the prune ones a fave). If you are in the Christopher Street area, this is an absolute MUST!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Addictive Leonardos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The biscotti, soft, is made daily. Once you have had it you will need to return on a regular basis. Lucky if you dont live in NYC, they ship.
The focaccia is the best I have ever eaten. The prices are not outrageously expensive consider the quality and exquisite taste.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Tuscan Sweet & Savory Items--Wonderful Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a find! This is an Italian (Tuscan) café that uses entirely authentic recipes when preparing their biscotti, bread, pizza, and focaccia menu items (including Italian sandwiches). They produce baked goods that are of superior quality. The biscotti and cookies will cost you about $1 each. They give generous samples of biscotti, cookies, and focaccia..don't take them, you'll be hooked. We found this gem on a Saturday afternoon and liked it so much, we returned the next day. The staff recognized us and welcomed us like family. I had a tomato and olive slice of focaccia and ate it at room temperature (they asked if I wanted it heated). The taste exploded in my mouth and I had to force myself to eat only one slice. Their sandwiches looked great but we were too full after enjoying their samples and purchased items. On weekends they make Italian donuts...light, airy and full of flavor and no grease. They had sample donut holes and everyone I saw that tried one, bought one. If you watch them make a cappuccino and order one, you may never order one from your coffee mega-mart every again. Simply no comparison. The sandwiches were priced around $6 and I wish I had gotten a couple to go. Quality and pride in everything they do. I've never eaten better baked goods anywhere. One bite and you're in Italy. Nice people and they love their craft.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real italian food in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As an italian living in NYC I need to have some places where I can feel at home even if 8000 km away from it. One of these places is il Cantuccio. I hang out here at least twice per week if not even more. I always buy la focaccia semplice to bring back home as bread and I always eat their pizza Manhattan or their Margherita for lunch. Their coffee, especially the espresso is really good. Also you must try their Cantucci, that is a typical italian cookie. I love the one with chocolate.
Italian music and atmosphere are guaranteed as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAAR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great italian breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to have breakfast in West Village. Try the sweet brioches or the croissants with nutella or get one of sandwiches- all is made fresh and delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.