We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best biscotti in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo

IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo
91 Christopher St, New York City, NY
212 647-8787
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,752 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best biscotti in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Il Cantuccio was probably one of my many highlights of my last trip to New York. It was definitely the highlight in the coffee/biscotti category. Il Cantuccio is an Italian bakery in the West Village characterized for having the best biscotti in town. I am not a biscotti connoisseuse but I can tell you they were great. My brother insisted with the chocolate one but my favorite was the one with dates. The biscotti are softer than the ones I am used to. They are really fresh and go great with a cappuccino or any Italian coffee for that matter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place in NYC for the real Tuscany delicatessen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Trust in me, cantucci, pizza, schiacciata and coffee like the very best traditional italian style.

Great for brunch and a break!

Great bread too

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is the place for all Tuscany lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

As a much travelled Tuscany lover, to stumble upon this little coffe place in Greenwich Village was a dream.

Highly recommend the coffee in a glass coated with Nutella but don't expect to eat for the rest of the day. It was divinely rich and gorgeous.

A perfect placeto take a rest, reada book, drink some coffee and eat biscotti. I could have been in Florence.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Felt like I was in Italy at a cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Amazing biscotti, fresh made sandwiches and breads. Cozy atmosphere. Coffee was also really good. The staff is super friendly with great personalities. We went here twice. A great place to find a corner with your book, coffee and lunch or baked good and be undisturbed. Nice area with lots of shops and boutiques.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, fantastic pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Seemed very close to a "real" Italian place, and clearly, about half the people in there were speaking Italian. Have only been there once, but I'd definitely go there again to sample more of their pastries. The latte I had was top of the line. Service was excellent, the woman who waited on me was warm and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo also viewed

 

Been to IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Cantuccio Biscotti di Leonardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.