We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza...and a nice getaway on a rainy NYC day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Door Deli

Stage Door Deli
26 Vesey St, New York City, NY 10007
(212) 791-5252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,028 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tn
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good pizza...and a nice getaway on a rainy NYC day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friends and I were in New York City recently for a day and touring the city when we came across Stage Door Deli. We were near the new World Trade building when it started to rain and decided to have lunch to get away from the downpour. We ended up in this restaurant.

We had the pizza and it was pretty good. The portions where huge so a couple of pieces are more than enough for most people. We also tried the desserts (sampling each others) which were really good. Our waitress was a good server and contrary to what I've seen in these reveiws, we had good service. The prices are not bad either. A decent place to eat for the bargain traveler.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Decent sandwiches, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Grabbed a quick sandwich and beer whilst passing last week. Excellent choice of fillings and sandwich was excellent.

Not impressed with being shouted over in Spanish by the cashier constantly when trying to ask questions though. If service matched the food the place would be much much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food lousy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a delicious lunch at the location near our hotel at 33rd and 8th. Great fries, big portions, yummy grilled cheese and fabulous baked goods. Service however was slow and our waitress was rude and unfriendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delectable Deli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stage Door Deli is an awesome place to eat while near the World Trade Center area of NYC. Our group of 55 -- yes 55 -- crashed this deli near closing time and we were greeted with top notch, friendly service and delicious food. These guys really know how to crank out the food and they processed our orders in what I felt was a very timely manner considering the large number of our party.

The Reuben sandwich was the absolute best I have ever eaten and my daughter and I split a large chocolate chip cookie for dessert which was melt-in-your-mouth good. I didn't hear a single complaint from anyone in our group and everyone seemed very satisfied with their meal.

The manager and/or owner stood by the door as we exited and thanked us for stopping in -- very nice. Don't hesitate to grab a meal at Stage Door Deli!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“NY Energy - Decent sandwhich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had an egg sandwich on a roll and coffee and sat in the back. Both were good. Watching the fast pace, whistling and tossing of orders was a show in and of it self.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stage Door Deli also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Stage Door Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Door Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.