We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Pizza Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Antonio

Don Antonio
309 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
646-719-1043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Pizza Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Being diagnosed with a gluten allergy over a year ago, I have tried numerous gluten free pizzas. Some have been disgusting, some have literally made me sick, some have been ok, or even at best pretty good. This pizza was magic. Not only was the flavor good, but the texture felt like I was eating a "real" pizza. I so wish I could bring them back home with me. One of our other diners had a calzone, which she enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    133
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dishonest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been here a few weeks ago, and we were shoched by the dishonesty regarding the method of payment. They crawled twice our credit card.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Pizza in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is saying a lot! Pizza is abundant in NYC - to be good, it takes a lot and this place has it. The pizza is fresh & tasty and different from most of pizza places in NYC - if you expect domino style pizza - this place ain't it. If you want a true & authentic Neapolitan pizza , check it out. Every time we visited, we had to wait a while for a table. The place is not big and it is always packed! The service is ok - the food come out pretty quickly. We always ordered Montanarine for appetizer and one of the pizza special to share. The pie isn't as big as NY style one, so one is good enough for two people. We love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Unusual but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We liked very much the location and the place. The staff was very nice, the service fast and attentive, the price reasonable. We had the Montanara Starita, the slightly fried pizza. Well, it's unusual, in Italy you don't eat anything like it, but it was interesting, although I would recommend more traditional pizzas.The 'margherita' which my daughter ordered was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best pizza I have had in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

By far the best pizza I have had in my life! My friend had checked the internet before our trip for some "best of" places and this pizza place was on the list. We weren't sure what to get so we asked the server. She said that they are best known for their Montanara Starita pizza (a lightly fried pizza with Starita tomato sauce and smoked buffalo mozza) . Any of the Pizze Speciale are unique to Don Antonio, while the rest are classics that can be found at most places. So we ordered the Montanara Starita and the Pistacchio e Salsiccia (pistachios, sausage, homemade mozza, pecorino romano, basil). Both were absolutely excellent in their own ways! I will definitely hit this place again when I return to New York!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Antonio also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Don Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.