We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Taste of Pizza in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Antonio

Don Antonio
309 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
646-719-1043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Leeds
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First Taste of Pizza in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Called in here on my recent trip to new York, the restaurant has a nice ambiance, the staff are pleasant and the food/cocktails are good! I couldn't eat all my pizza so they put it in a takeaway tray for me to eat later which was a bonus! Would visit here again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    133
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were led here by the Tripadvisor reviews and all boded well - nice, simple surroundings, tempting menu, excellent wine list and absolutely lovely service. The only thing that let it down was...the pizza. The toppings were rather sloppy and, much worse, patchily cold. What's more, the bases, of which we expected a great deal, were heavy and rather lumpen. Judging by all the other reviews maybe we were just unlucky but we left feeling underwhelmed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

On my first night in New York we decided to look up good pizza restaurants. This one had good reviews so we went. We were seated straight away around 9pm on a Wednesday and the service was really good. I had a local beer which was great and the pizzas came quickly. The pizza was absolutely amazing it really was. I am a big pizza eater and I think it's the best pizza I've ever had in a restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant and if I ever return to New York it will most definitely be on the list. Well priced and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'm not a massive pizza fan, but don't miss this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to be staying in the same block as Don Antonio's, so naturally we ended up there one evening we were a little exhausted after our adventures in New York.
The staff are all Italian, and in fact many seem to have English as their second language, which somehow makes it all seem more authentic, right ; )

Like a said in my title, I am not a massive pizza fan, however the authentic nature of this pizza blew my husband and I away. We had the specialty, “Montanara Starita”, which is flash-fried pizza dough topped with signature Starita tomato sauce and imported smoked buffalo mozzarella, finished in the wood burning oven. Beautiful simplicity.

We countered that with one of their Bianche pizzas (without tomato sauce) which was a special for the evening with a porcini mushroom paste, zuchinni, mozzarella and speck. It was incredible!

The bar staff are lovely and you could quite happily sit up at the bar with your pizza and a glass of red on your own.

DO NOT MISS THIS if you love pizza, and even if you need to convinced!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We looked around for a light fare before we went to an Off-Broadway show and we found this gem.
We were there by 6:15 on a Saturday nigh - needing a table for 4 - and we had no wait. The pizzas were easily shared by two and the salad before was also large enough to share.

I would definitely return here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Antonio also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Don Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.