We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Antonio

Don Antonio
309 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
646-719-1043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Vesuvio (stuffed pizza) was delicious and a nice surprise from the typical pizza. I’m not sure why it is considered stuffed because it did not seem to be stuffed. This pizzeria small and feels cramped; however, very popular. They serve authentic Neapolitan pizza from a wood fire. The service was less attentive than what I prefer. It appeared that some patrons were well known and received a higher level of attention.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    133
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service and food are outstanding. The pizza dough is exceptional. Wow, love this place. We've returned several times since our first visit. I love the pizza with arugula and prociutto, the dessert with Nutella and fried dough is sinful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New York's most authentic Italian pizzeria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great service ! Great people ! Great pizza The bloody mary's best we ever had !!! We ate at the bar the bartender was very knowledgeable about the Italian culture, the wait staff all Italian treat yourself To Italy while visiting the Big Apple. Ciao

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we had possibly the best pizza in Naples at the Starita Restaurant this summer, the staff gave us a card for their newly opened pizzeria in New York - perfect as we were planning a visit at Xmas. We weren't disappointed either by the New York restaurant. It's different from its Naples progenitor but still absolutely wonderful Pizzas. We went prior to seeing a show on Broadway and it's excellently located for that. You can't make a reservation so we arrived about 6pm. Even then we had to wait for a table for 30 minutes - this was slightly nerve racking as the show started at 7.30 but the staff went out of their way to keep us up to date on progress with the table and gave us instant service. We had a drink at the bar whilst waiting. An absolute bonus was meeting Mr Starita himself who was there watching how things were going and was introduced because we mentioned we'd been to Naples. Its a busy bustling atmosphere and not huge. Prices are very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this a must eat restaurant if you're visiting New York.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time having this unique style of pizza - flash-fried dough. Had Antonio Starita's Specialty Pizza - tomato sauce & smoked buffalo mozzarella. Tasted great. The surprise was the Insalate Pizza. While it was good, I wasn't expecting it to be a stuffed pizza (salad ingredients between two layers of pizza dough). Nice restaurant with pleasant & efficient service. Would return again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Antonio also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Don Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.