We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hatboro, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I often spend nights in NY where all I really need is a bed, so I'm always looking at the cheapest options. The good thing about this place is that it is genuinely cheap in a really convenient neighborhood. If price is your biggest priority, you will not find a better deal in this area of Manhattan.

This place used to be a shelter (that I spent some time volunteering at, so I know for sure), and the owners have converted it to a hotel with no renovations. The rooms are so small that the single beds are custom size, which is why I am sure that they have not replaced the beds. What you get for your $30 or so is a room with a lock. There is no sound barrier at all - one of the three nights I was there, someone was trying to wake his friend for a 4:30am wakeup call and yes, we all woke up. I briefly called home, knowing my neighbors could hear my every word.

The place claimed to have internet you could purchase at two levels. For almost all of the time I was there, you could not purchase it at any level, which was really, really annoying since watching a movie on my electronic device was my plan to go to sleep. Some of it came up on the last of the three nights I was there, but since there were no power outlets in the room, my tablet was out of power and ...I didn't care anymore.

I didn't take a shower the whole time I was there, but...it is a challenge. There is a small changing area outside of each shower but the setup is awkward.

I would however, stay there again. I often pop in to the east village just needing a place to go to sleep, and I always find street parking for my car in the east village (I found a great spot in just 20 minutes for the three day I took in May). If you just need a place to sleep overnight and bathrooms and privacy are not a big concern, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    56
    57
    39
    171
See reviews for
6
43
122
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perissac, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Summary:
Unhealthy bathrooms, unprofessional staff, noisy, and candidate for shut-down.

Courtesy:
It is not worth the money. The receptionist is the game killer. Rude, unprofessional and probably has full of dark side of being human. As an example: he did not treat the customers like human, wanted to feel superior by yelling at customers. He also wanted everyone be awaiting while he was "busy" doing something else. No customers should be treated like that. I am surprised how he is employed there... probably it is his father's business.

Hygiene:
The hygiene in the restroom and so called bedrooms are horrendous. How can US health department allow this to happen?
Be sure to check the bug report.

Noise:
If u want to sleep in the 3 by 6 bed, and can tolerate noise, this is the place for you.

You have been warned: do not go there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place would have been great otherwise! Staff at the front desk were helpful, rooms were exactly as described online, bathroom facilities about as clean as you'd expect at a hostel. Not too loud, towels were provided, there is some free wifi in the lobby, and coin laundry in the basement. Having a private room with a locked door was a big plus. That being said, you have to leave your key at the front desk when you go out, and you CANNOT bring anyone up to your room. So sneaking in extra people here in a no-go (we tried and failed, don't attempt it).

The location is terrific: right in SoHo, about 10 min walk from Greenwich Village. Almost made it worth the bedbugs... but I just can't give a good rating to any hostel that has 'em! Also, since we found them on the weekend, the management wasn't around and we got absolutely no recompense, no apology, nothing except a switch to a new room (where we found a bedbug again). So unless you are prepared to share your bed with some little bug friends, I would NOT stay here!

Room Tip: CHECK FOR BEDBUGS REALLY CAREFULLY! also avoid the rooms near the bathroom or front doors as they te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For $30 a night in Manhattan it could be rat infested for all I care!! (It's not though).

The rooms are single 'cell' type things, closet space really, but what else do you need? It says on their website that the rooms are tiny with no electrical outlets and no ceilings, and warns that it might be noisy. The girl at the front desk was careful to ask if I knew what the rooms were like when I checked in, I think they must get a lot of grief from people who don't know what they're letting themselves in for! I personally was quite charmed by my little 'closet'. When you've stayed in enough crappy dorm rooms, privacy becomes a luxury.

The bathrooms were fine, and showers had good pressure, but did take a minute to warm up. Someone on reception 24hrs a day and all staff were helpful and happy to answer any questions.

I would recommend light sleepers bring earplugs/eyemasks because it can be quite noisy. Most people are good about being quiet but sometimes people have had a few to drink and forget to keep their voices down. Also, this being NYC there is always noise from traffic etc.

I haven't found a backpackers yet in the USA with free wifi but there is a starbucks down the road, so if you're desperate to check your facebook you can always go there.

Overall, good location, close to several subway stops, or an easy walk to most sights - if you like walking. I walked back from central park one evening, didn't take too long. Easy ten minute walk to the chinatown bus also.

Would definitely stay here again. Just make sure you know what you're in for, if you're expecting luxury look elsewhere and don't abuse the staff just because you haven't done your homework!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

i have to admit i have travelled in my time but I have never seen such a horrific place! First you are asked to leave your passport and credit card behind to check the room! even before checking in! so what will they do if you decide not to take the cupboard? I originally planned to stay 9 nights so I was charged one night extra as a deposit and paid the other 9 nights cash (380 usd). Wifi is NOT free well 50 MB per day is free then its 6bucks per day a ripp off!!! Yes you are not allowed to take your key out and yes the rooms do not have ceiling not electric plugs!So the following day realising taht i would not be able to stay one more night on that crappy place i have asked for a refund and guess what?? no refunds!!!!! The security deposit that they actually took will be refunded in 7 days if we believe what they claim DO NOT GO INTO THAT PLACE AND TO BE HONEST IT SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN ITS NOT CONFORMED!!

Room Tip: do not stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice hostel really looks like the pictures on the web, the district is really nice, near everything! i recommand if you're going to new york for the first time or even to come back such as we did, it was very interesting to be located in a place were you can find many shops, restaurants, the subway and new york sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great bargain for travellers + models or actors in the city --small private rooms include a small closet + plenty of hooks to hang your nice clothes, similar to european hostels, simple basic wonderful budget lodgings!

Great location near SoHo, East Village, 7-11 across street + Whole Foods a few blocks away!

The price cannot be beat. When you are in NYC you really want to enjoy the great restaurants, sightseeing museums, etc + that does require money from your budget. Therefore, saving money here for lodgings really makes your stay in NYC so much more enjoyable because you can enjoy so much more on other things.

The location is also really great.

Having a closet space + being able to hang your clothes, as well as the beds being high up so that there is storage space under the beds is really invaluable.

Having a private shower instead of communal ones at other hostels means you don't have to worry about your things while you shower, or privacy issues (I like to take a shower without the cleaning people in the bathroom at the same time is that weird? Here you don't have to worry about it :)

The location is also really great. Right between two subway stations, and also near SoHo, East Village. Great for shopping at cute little boutiques that you can't find anywhere else.

This place is just a g_dsend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 184 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.