We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place, should be shut down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Save
You added Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel to your Saves list
340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perissac, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst place, should be shut down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Summary:
Unhealthy bathrooms, unprofessional staff, noisy, and candidate for shut-down.

Courtesy:
It is not worth the money. The receptionist is the game killer. Rude, unprofessional and probably has full of dark side of being human. As an example: he did not treat the customers like human, wanted to feel superior by yelling at customers. He also wanted everyone be awaiting while he was "busy" doing something else. No customers should be treated like that. I am surprised how he is employed there... probably it is his father's business.

Hygiene:
The hygiene in the restroom and so called bedrooms are horrendous. How can US health department allow this to happen?
Be sure to check the bug report.

Noise:
If u want to sleep in the 3 by 6 bed, and can tolerate noise, this is the place for you.

You have been warned: do not go there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    57
    41
    176
See reviews for
6
45
127
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place would have been great otherwise! Staff at the front desk were helpful, rooms were exactly as described online, bathroom facilities about as clean as you'd expect at a hostel. Not too loud, towels were provided, there is some free wifi in the lobby, and coin laundry in the basement. Having a private room with a locked door was a big plus. That being said, you have to leave your key at the front desk when you go out, and you CANNOT bring anyone up to your room. So sneaking in extra people here in a no-go (we tried and failed, don't attempt it).

The location is terrific: right in SoHo, about 10 min walk from Greenwich Village. Almost made it worth the bedbugs... but I just can't give a good rating to any hostel that has 'em! Also, since we found them on the weekend, the management wasn't around and we got absolutely no recompense, no apology, nothing except a switch to a new room (where we found a bedbug again). So unless you are prepared to share your bed with some little bug friends, I would NOT stay here!

Room Tip: CHECK FOR BEDBUGS REALLY CAREFULLY! also avoid the rooms near the bathroom or front doors as they te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For $30 a night in Manhattan it could be rat infested for all I care!! (It's not though).

The rooms are single 'cell' type things, closet space really, but what else do you need? It says on their website that the rooms are tiny with no electrical outlets and no ceilings, and warns that it might be noisy. The girl at the front desk was careful to ask if I knew what the rooms were like when I checked in, I think they must get a lot of grief from people who don't know what they're letting themselves in for! I personally was quite charmed by my little 'closet'. When you've stayed in enough crappy dorm rooms, privacy becomes a luxury.

The bathrooms were fine, and showers had good pressure, but did take a minute to warm up. Someone on reception 24hrs a day and all staff were helpful and happy to answer any questions.

I would recommend light sleepers bring earplugs/eyemasks because it can be quite noisy. Most people are good about being quiet but sometimes people have had a few to drink and forget to keep their voices down. Also, this being NYC there is always noise from traffic etc.

I haven't found a backpackers yet in the USA with free wifi but there is a starbucks down the road, so if you're desperate to check your facebook you can always go there.

Overall, good location, close to several subway stops, or an easy walk to most sights - if you like walking. I walked back from central park one evening, didn't take too long. Easy ten minute walk to the chinatown bus also.

Would definitely stay here again. Just make sure you know what you're in for, if you're expecting luxury look elsewhere and don't abuse the staff just because you haven't done your homework!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

i have to admit i have travelled in my time but I have never seen such a horrific place! First you are asked to leave your passport and credit card behind to check the room! even before checking in! so what will they do if you decide not to take the cupboard? I originally planned to stay 9 nights so I was charged one night extra as a deposit and paid the other 9 nights cash (380 usd). Wifi is NOT free well 50 MB per day is free then its 6bucks per day a ripp off!!! Yes you are not allowed to take your key out and yes the rooms do not have ceiling not electric plugs!So the following day realising taht i would not be able to stay one more night on that crappy place i have asked for a refund and guess what?? no refunds!!!!! The security deposit that they actually took will be refunded in 7 days if we believe what they claim DO NOT GO INTO THAT PLACE AND TO BE HONEST IT SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN ITS NOT CONFORMED!!

Room Tip: do not stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice hostel really looks like the pictures on the web, the district is really nice, near everything! i recommand if you're going to new york for the first time or even to come back such as we did, it was very interesting to be located in a place were you can find many shops, restaurants, the subway and new york sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great bargain for travellers + models or actors in the city --small private rooms include a small closet + plenty of hooks to hang your nice clothes, similar to european hostels, simple basic wonderful budget lodgings!

Great location near SoHo, East Village, 7-11 across street + Whole Foods a few blocks away!

The price cannot be beat. When you are in NYC you really want to enjoy the great restaurants, sightseeing museums, etc + that does require money from your budget. Therefore, saving money here for lodgings really makes your stay in NYC so much more enjoyable because you can enjoy so much more on other things.

The location is also really great.

Having a closet space + being able to hang your clothes, as well as the beds being high up so that there is storage space under the beds is really invaluable.

Having a private shower instead of communal ones at other hostels means you don't have to worry about your things while you shower, or privacy issues (I like to take a shower without the cleaning people in the bathroom at the same time is that weird? Here you don't have to worry about it :)

The location is also really great. Right between two subway stations, and also near SoHo, East Village. Great for shopping at cute little boutiques that you can't find anywhere else.

This place is just a g_dsend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The fact of the matter is, Whitehouse is exactly what it claims to be. If you look at the website, they state up front that most rooms have no outlets, that the ceilings are open and sound WILL carry, that most guests are young so the place can be loud, and that it's a former lodging house (aka cage hotel). You're also getting a room for about 1/3 of anything else in Manhattan. I know, I've stayed in other hostels that cost 2-3 times as much and while they provided more space, I wasn't planning to spend my time in NYC admiring my hotel room walls. I'll be the first to admit that this place is bare bones, but their website includes photos and a detailed FAQ making it incredibly clear that the room with be tiny and open. That said, it's also an amazing place to stay if you have any interest in the history of American skid rows and turn of the 20th century working class quarters. Places like this hostel used to exist all along the Bowery area for the working poor and unemployed to rent a place to stay and while this place is much cleaner than those places of old, it does give you a chance to see a part of that important lower class history that's disappearing today.

Room Tip: Bring an extra blanket, it gets pretty chilly at night. The desk is 24 hours so visit some of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.