We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Save
You added Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel to your Saves list
340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice and friendly staff (front desk is open 24/7). Excellent location - steps away from NYU, Greenwich Village, the Meatpacking District, Ground Zero, SoHo and New York's hottest night spots, restaurants and best shopping. Safe and lively part of the No-Ho District of Manhattan. Would recommend to travellers who wants value for money...it's one of the most affordable in NYC. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    57
    41
    176
See reviews for
6
45
127
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here when moving to NYC as somewhere cheap & close to where i was apartment hunting. The noise was unbearable. They did room construction a number of mornings from 630am. Very loud drilling into concrete floors!! There's no powerpoints except in reception. The bathrooms are decrepit. I kept waking up with bites. Only redeeming feature is its location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights and had a very small cell. they did advertise it as very small and they were not kidding. this is a very low cost place but this is reflected in the accoadation.
one of the two staff was very helpfull and the other was not i think i was actually a distraction from his sleep.
if you like loud snoring and crampt space poor hygene and poor lighting this is the place for you

Room Tip: book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nov 10, 2012
When we arrived at the Bowerey Whitehouse (which is an absolute dump not worthy for animals to sleep in let alone humans), we enquired if there had been any recent bed bug activity. The girl at reception said no. We checked the bed in room 203 and could not find evidence of bed bugs, as it was covered in a protective bed casing. We left our luggage and went out for the evening.

When we returned around 2 am, we saw one bug on our bed. We collected the bug and took it reception. The guy working at that time said it "may not be a bed bug", but he suggested moving us to a room on the fourth floor. We asked him to contact other nearby hotels to see if we could move hotels rather, but everything was booked up. So we went to room 406. We slept, but around 4 am, we awoke, itchy, and when we turned on the light there were 20-30 bugs crawling all over the bed. My wrists, ankles, back and leg are covered in swollen, itchy red spots. I have bits on my face near my eye and cheek.
This place flat out lied to us and deserves to be shut down! When I asked if they were going to shut down to do fumigation and alert the other travellers, the reception people did not seem concerned at all.DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year. It was a great place to stay for a couple on a budget trying to enjoy NYC. Rooms are small, which was fine with us because we only used the room to sleep, which is what most people do at hostels! Best part is the location...10 minute walk to St. Marks and union sq! I will be staying here again next month!

Room Tip: Request a room away from bathroom and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay at the Whitehouse pretty much ever time I come to NYC. As a woman who frequently travels alone this is a great place for me- I have my own room with a door that locks firmly, but it's a fraction of the price of a hotel room. If you know what to expect it's a great choice- the rooms are tiny but have sturdy doors and good locks, the floors can be noisy during his occupancy times but it's NYC and that's just the way things are, and the bathrooms have always been clean and I've never needed to wait for a shower. The only downside is how hard it is to charge electronics, as outlets are few and far between. Usually the desk will let you leave devices behind the desk to charge though, and really if you want to charge your laptop that's what Starbucks is for- this is New York after all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed at the Whitehouse many times over the last 15 years. (It's been a while, but they used to remember me each time I returned.) After some frugal years, I finally get to go back to New York & my first step was reserving a room here. The location is great -- easy to reach from any local airport. And for a very reasonable price, the Whitehouse provides just what a traveller needs: a safe, clean place to sleep & keep your stuff while you visit the greatest destination city in the world!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.