We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Efuru Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Efuru Guest House to your Saves list
Efuru Guest House
106 West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Alverca do Ribatejo, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family Vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The apartment was clean and with a good location, near subway, supermarket, coffees and restaurants. The zone had nice people and we didn't have any problems on walking in the streets during the night or day.
If we return to NY one day for sure we will stay there again.

Room Tip: better to choose apartment since you can cook and it's like you are home
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Best
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at the Efuru Guest House for 6 nights. Booking was fairly easy and everything was available as promised. The neighbourhood, south Harlem, was quiet and safe. There were some good restaurants and coffee bars nearby.
The rooms were very spacious (with airco!) and the shared bathroom was clean and functional.
Rona, the housekeeper was very kind, we had a late flight out of New York, and we could store our luggage in the living room after check-out.
I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone who wants to spend a few days in New York City.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My mom, aunt, and I were in New York for Sufjan Stevens' concert and we ended up booking Efuru for four days. While there was initial concern about safety in the Harlem area, it was actually pretty good. We once walked from the train station to Efuru at around 3 in the morning and the streets were clear and safe. The bed and breakfast is near some chic cafes and a few minutes walk from the subway. My main concern about it is the room and the squeaky floor. When we arrived, the lights wouldn't work. But apart from that, our stay was very pleasant and the landlady's daughter was very nice. She made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My family had two rooms on the top floor of the Harlem Brownstone. The kitchenette was adequate for what we needed (generally, breakfast only). The rooms were clean and comfortable, and slept well. Some others will (and have) question the location, but it's a great way to experience a more multicultural NYC than one would staying closer to central park and south.

My only dissatisfaction was that the wall unit A/C's would be turned off by the staff during the day--which, in an of itself, is understandable. However, coming back to the room at 11pm to the top floor of a Brownstone to what was effectively a sauna was inconvenient.

A short walk from the subway was pretty convenient; however, Taxi's cannot seem to find the address. I would advise cab riders to tell the drivers 120th and Lenox, then walk the extra 90 feet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We are a family with 3 children so we rented a flat in Harlem. Efuru Guest House has got either bedrooms or small flats. We got a nice and comfortable flat. The guest lady (Lidia) is a friendly lady who gave us all the necessary information to visit NY. In the nearby we had shops and metro stations. I would really like to go there again as I loved my staying there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

After directions from Lydia, we arrived with no problems by subway from lower Manhatten and a short walk from 116th street station.
All the door locks were a bit off putting and the climb up 3 floors to our rooms with suitcases was not much fun, especially when we found our room had no air conditioning.
However, after the first night, Lydia had the air conditioning sorted out and our stay at Efuru was fantastic.
Lydia was always there to help with enquiries and the Guest House was in a quite part of Harlem in a beautiful Brownstone Building.
It was a 10 street walk to the top of Central Park(About a ten minute walk) and a 5 minute walk to 125th street where all the Harlem action occurs.
Apollo Theatre , Silvias Restaurant and the Abyssinian Church(make sure you wear appropriate clothing and get there at least 3 hours early) are all easy walking from Efuru.
Free internet access is available but best used on main level of house and washing machine and dryer available in basement for a few quarters.
Dont let Harlem put you off staying in this area as it was great and we never felt threatened, even walking home from the station after a night in Broadway.
It is an easy 20 minutes on the subway to 42nd street on the same train.
And an easy option to La Guardia airport for $2.25 leaves every 10 minutes or so from 125th street on the local bus.
Check our Silvias for some Southern Food experience and a great meal can be had a few minutes walk away at Settapani Restaurant on Lennox Avenue.
Thanks Lydia for looking after us and hopefully one day we will be back with our Canadian friends

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We found this to be a surprisingly affordable place to stay in New York City. We'd heard a lot of stuff about how dangerous Harlem was, all of which we felt to be unfounded. This is a gentrifying, buzzing part of the city just a few subway stops from downtown. We had our own studio in the Annex, which was clean and had super comfy beds. One minor criticism was that the tv didn't work very well, but this was hardly a big issue

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Efuru Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efuru Guest House

Address: 106 West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Budget Places, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Efuru Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efuru Guest House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Efuru Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.