We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neue Galerie

Neue Galerie
1048 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10028 (Manhattan)
212-628-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum displaying works of art by German and Austrian artists and designers.
Islesford, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Neue Gallerie is a splendid, sanely small museum. The paintings, design and drawings of Central Europe are shown in beautiful elegant surroundings. The information - the didactics- for the visitor are respectfully understated so the viewer can determine his/her own reactions to a piece. It is a relief to slow down and be able to concentrate on the art rather than the circus that so many other larger museums have become.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    58
    19
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“My idea of a small museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This museum is small and it is perfect. The exhibitions are always organized with deep understanding of the art and the appreciation of the creators of art. You will not be lost and you will see few paintings, but is the measure of your museum visit the number of rooms you rush through?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Small collection with big ego!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This could have been a pleasant museum visit as the collection, albeit tiny, is really nicely put and the venue itself is amazing. The experience was severely damaged by the attitude of the people working there. One could feel the cold, arrogant ambiance as soon as you enter the museum. Despite the pricy tickets (20$ for a very small museum) the people working have the face of probably doing you a favour when they let you in. The do not allow taking photos anywhere. I wonder what damage can a photo do to the Wiener Werkstatte cutlery or to the Bauhaus posters. The drop that spilled the cup was when I was told off by the very chic and cold lady at the design shop (with the exorbitant prices for copies) that i am not allowed to take pics. I do not what they have in mind but i was certainly not happy i have spent 20$ in order to by looked down by some badly paid employees.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Horrible Place, horrible, rude staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went for the Messerschmidt exhibit in 2011. I was literally knocked out of the way by one of the door staff while a woman dripping with furs, diamonds and an indecent amount of perfume was escorted into the building. I then had to wait at least 25 minutes while a private tour was shown around the exhibit and was closed to us regular folk - on a weekend indeed. I wouldn't have been as annoyed if it weren't for the fact that the stink of fish pervading 3 floors, which was coming from their own restaurant, was quite nauseating.

Whilst it was nice to see the artworks (finally) the presentation was simply awful. There was not the slightest hint of inspiration or imagination. The heads were simply dumped in glass cases in an over-lit room. I have not returned since and don't intend to - and unless you are a diehard fan of Klimt I suggest you don't bother either. The museum is very small, the artwork is generally poorly displayed, and the admission price excessive. There are lots of lovely private galleries in Manhattan to explore that treat you like a human being, so leave this one to the old women in diamonds and furs. I used to have a lot of sympathy for returning stolen wartime art to it's rightful owners. This experience took the edge of that quite a bit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This wonderful little museum, which features Austrian and German artists such as Klimt, Kandinsky (honorary German) and Schiele, is somewhat overshadowed by the nearby Met, but it's definitely worth a visit. The artwork and its presentation are beautiful, and the whole thing is very manageable in size. We were there on a Saturday afternoon and the crowds were very minimal. It's worth trying to coordinate a visit to Cafe Sabarsky (located inside the museum) for a delicious brunch, lunch or cup of coffee.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neue Galerie also viewed

 

Been to Neue Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neue Galerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.