We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little joint with really great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl's Beer and Cheese

Earl's Beer and Cheese
1259 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10029
212-289-1581
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,586 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun little joint with really great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I live in the neighborhood and frequented this place about 6 times, and Im never disappointed. Very cozy place and frequently change beers on the tap which is nice! My favorite is the pork pulled cheese scallion pancake taco and the mac and cheese. Definitely off the beaten path and a lot of fun. Worth the trek up town and great place to go after visiting museum mile!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Great beer off the tourist trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

OK we were tourists on a trail and we followed recommendations to find this place but were not disappointed.

It's a tiny place. obviously well used by regulars. We were made to feel very welcome. The beer was good and all the bar snacks perfectly designed to soak up the third glass.

Top tip. If you're there in the day time then go next door for a donut. Delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Upper East Side Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Probably the best Tomato Soup I have ever had. This place is so cute and very "hold-in-the-wall". You can't go with more than a party of 2-3 but it’s worth it. The menu is limited but very unique and delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“inventive and tasty food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend and I visited Earl's Beer and Cheese because she lives in the neighborhood and wanted to try out a neighborhood place. Overall, I felt the food was very affordable and tasty – food you can't just get anywhere else.

We went on a Saturday late morning, and it really wasn't that busy at all. My friend normally said it's packed during the night, and I will say that once I ordered the food, the service was rather slow in terms of how quickly the food came out relative to the few customers there.

The food itself is very inventive, that's how I would describe it. I personally got the "foieco," which was foie gras taco with french fries and caramelized onions. A very random creation, to be sure, but I love foie gras and it was a sizable portion for $12. I guess they're going for some type of kitsch to put foie gras on top of single-slice American cheese like you would getting the store. It worked for me. I also got the mozzarella sandwich with miso mayo and pickles, which was absolutely delicious and only $6! My friend got the pulled pork sandwich on a scallion pancake, and it was also very delicious and had a lot of complex flavors that work together.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Earl's Beer and Cheese, even though it's rather far up the East side. Even with all the restaurants in New York, I would still go here again if I were in the area. I felt the food was inventive and interesting and fun. Honestly, I didn't have any of the beer because we had just gone out the night before, but they seem to have a good selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing beer cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here is incredible. Very simple, small menu, but everything I had was outstanding. Probably the best beer cheese I've eaten, delicious grilled cheese, fantastic (and huge) taco, and insanely amazing bread pudding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl's Beer and Cheese also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Earl's Beer and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl's Beer and Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.