We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for your money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Basil

Little Basil
153 East 26th Street, New York City, NY 10010
212-689-1444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,045 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Varde, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value for your money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This small restaurant comes with good service and really delicious food. Their iced thai tea is recommendable. we tried three different courses from the menu and everything was tasteful and good. We would go again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    7
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cozy tasty Thai place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We love Thai food and have high expectations when we go to a Thai restaurant. We searched for a nearby Thai place when we were in NYC recently and decided to try out Little Basil.
Little Basil is a small and nicely decorated. The soups are flavorful. When the menu indicates hot it is of good heat. The Crispy Duck was perfect - moist meat w/ light crisp non-greasy skin - Yum! The food is fresh, authentic and well prepared and very reasonably priced. The alcohol is BYOB. I would definitely return when in town or do the take out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great Thai gem in Gramercy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had a longer lunch break than usual so I had time to actually sit in a restaurant. It was my first Thai experience and my friend recommended Little Basil. I'm so glad she did! We chose from the awesome lunch menu. I had the tom yum soup and vegetable spring rolls to start. The soup was interesting. It was good but had a very different taste. The spring rolls were perfect. They were nice and crispy. My friend had the steamed dumplings and raved about them. My friend had chicken pad Thai for her entree and I had chicken pad khing. We were both very satisfied. I tried hers and it was very good. I loved mine. It's a very tiny restaurant but it was ok for us because it wasn't the lunch hour peak or else I would imagine the wait would get long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A nice little thai restaurant off the beaten path.
Service was quick and friendly, and the prices are great.

Living in Atlantic Canada, I like to sniff out thai food whenever I'm away, and I was definitely impressed with this place. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh my Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is my absolutely favorite new Thai restaurant. It`s small serene ambience with wonderful no rush service and very fulfilling portion oh did i mention delicious food is my Thai go to place. They do alot of take out but i`ll save that for cold winter nights.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Basil also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Little Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.