We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Private Rooms, Kind of Out of the Way...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Envoy Club Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Envoy Club Suites to your Saves list
Envoy Club Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 East 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #392 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Private Rooms, Kind of Out of the Way...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

When you enter the building it almost seems as if you are in the wrong place, from what I understand the "hotel" is just a few floors of an apartment building, it was walking distance from a subway, but in the January cold it was a little longer walk than I would have liked. I loved the full kitchen included in the room. The bed was comfortable, the TV was nice. I really don't have too many complaints about the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CupKate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Do you enjoy a shower that turns into a bath immediately? Or a showath as we liked to call it. How about stained, dirty...and I mean filthy...carpets that have never seen a vacuum? And who doesn't like the smell or better yet the sight of white furry mould? On day 3 of our stay our friends realized that the a/c was leaking and had soaked their suitcase. Now their clothes smelled like mildew. Seriously...the subway floors were cleaner. The kicker is apparently sick kids stay here when they get treatment at the hospital...we all woke up with congestion and a cough every morning because of the dust andshouldl, how can that be healthy for a sick child?I'll try and touch on the positive. The apartment was big. The location is great. We really liked the Lucky Diner on the corner. When we complained about the room they fixed the bed and gave us free wi-fi. Bottom line...look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Normie_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked a 1 bedroom based on the description and pictures on Envoy's website. What a joke! Upon entering the apartment we were immediately hit with an awful odor. It smelled like years of stale smoke. After pushing through the foul odor, we couldn't help but notice the carpet was stained, burned and so warn out there were several areas that looked like there was no carpet left at all. To add insult to injury, when we saw the bedroom, two prominent circles of wallpaper were cut and falling off the wall with a hole in the middle of each circle. The curtains in both the bedroom and living room were missing approximately half the hooks that keep the drapes up. The unit was so dreary, dirty and warn we did not want to sit on the furniture or sleep in the bed. When we confronted the front desk, they claimed this was the only unit available and there was nothing they could do. We promptly left.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here in June and booked (guaranteed) a two bedroom suite. Upon check-in I was told they didn't have one available and put us in 2 one-bedroom suites. I was told there was nothing they could do and it happens all the time. Really? How can they guarantee something and then say, never mind. It was not the girls weekend we had hoped for because we were in different rooms. Then the nightmare began. I complained about the fact that we weren't in a 2 bedroom and that the air conditioning didn't work in one of the rooms (not acceptable in June in NYC) we told the front desk and they said they'd fix it, well, they said it was frozen but working again, wrong, it wasn't and the mildew smell led me to believe it happened a lot. When I got home I called customer service but never got a response, my travel agent called and emailed and never got a response and American Express called and never got a response. I asked for a refund of one-half of my total bill (which I thought was fair). Luckily by using my AmEx card I let them handle it and received the refund. Now, 3 months later, this hotel got my Visa card number and is trying to get the rest of the money from them. Very shady. I have travelled all over the world and have never encountered a problem like this. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have never written a review about any supplier before in 30 years in the travel business but....time's up! I am a travel agent who booked a client into the Envoy Club Suites for the express purpose of having the 2 bedroom unit. Three generations of women in one family were going to The City for a getaway celebrating the matriarch's birthday. I even spoke voice-to-voice twice with the reservations department prior to their arrival in order to append a credit card for guarantee and to be certain the 2-bedroom unit was guaranteed. When they arrived.....no 2 bedroom available! They were very casually told that "it happens all the time".
Long story short....they were separated; one room was adequate while the other lacked working air-conditioning in June and smelled of mildew. No one would return my calls. My client disputed some of the charges successfully but now the management is sneaking around and trying to charge another card that was originally just used for the guarantee. Unbelieveable! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 746Traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed in the two bedroom apartment. On first impressions the room is impressive, very spacious with kitchen and living room. then the over powering musty smell hits you. The apartments are very worn and shabby, the more you look the more you find. The list of faults includes broken wash basin, dirty carpets, excrement found on the rear of my bathroom door, suspicious looking stains on the curtain, musty smell throughout. The bed linen was clean so I felt comfortable sleeping there but I did not walk barefoot anywhere else. The Aircon was noisy, but at least it worked. The windows were also very dirty. Its location is ok but a bit of a walk to the main areas, it is also noisy with lots of sirens outside, but I suppose you have to expect noise in New York. The roof terrace is good for sun bathing but no good views from up there.
A summary is that it is cheap for NY and spacious but not clean, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mezzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at The Envoy Club recently and have to say the location is fabulous, the front desk staff for the CONDO part of the lobby are very helpful and kind, and the price point is wonderful considering the location but the place could realy use some freshening. There was a large water/mold stain on the ceiling of the bathroom as well as cracked fixtures in the bath and lighting face plates. The wallpaper was beginning to peel at almost every seam and the sofa cushions flatten into a pancake after a small child sits on them for less than 5 minutes. The internet connection that you pay for is intermittent at best.

Its too bad actually because the location is first rate. Lots of restaruants in the area, food stores to stock the kitchen, and very convenient to the subway for sightseeing. Everyone in our party thought they would return to The Envoy if the rooms were fixed up even just a little, but there are too many other choices in the area to have rooms in this state.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank droberts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,064 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Envoy Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Envoy Club Suites

Address: 377 East 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Envoy Club Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Envoy Club Suites offers beautifully appointed studios, one and two bedrooms with full kitchens and all the comforts of home. We are located in the historic Murray Hill neighborhood in midtown Manhattan. These spacious, elegantly designed apartment suites are complete with fully equipped kitchens, a dining area, cable TV, VCR/DVD player, CD stereo, and wifi internet access. Property includes large Fitness Center with sauna and steam room, Cinema Room, Conference Room and Rooftop Deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Envoy Club Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Envoy Club Hotel New York City
Envoy Hotel New York City
Envoy New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing