We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place New York Midtown South to your Saves list
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-54 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #142 of 458 Hotels in New York City
FAIRPORT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had the best room on the 25th floor, overlooking the city and the empire State building. Room was spotless and in great condition. Employees, esp. Raoul and Thomas, were extremely helpful and friendly. We were in a good location for walking and bus and the best breakfast ever. Highly recommend this Hyatt and didn't break the bank either.

Room Tip: High with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    257
    59
    35
    16
See reviews for
213
195
39
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for Oscar night. First time to New York. Walking distance to all the Midtown Manhattan spots... Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Grand Central, etc. Top floor room at a great price. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here on March 9 & 10 and had a wonderful experience. The only complaint I have is with the car service that was called by one of the employees to take us to the airport. We left our baggage at the hotel since we had a flight later in the day and the gentleman that took our luggage ask how we were getting to the airport. When we told him we were taking a taxi, he said "Oh no, let me call you a car service, you'll be much more comfortable and it's not that much more expensive." He told us the car would be no more than $50 to LGA. We had paid $35 for the taxi when we arrived from the airport so we figured for $15 more, why not go ahead and get the car. When we arrived at the airport, the driver told us it would be $60. When we questioned why we were quoted no more that $50, he said that it was because he had gone through the tunnel and paid a toll. The taxi also went through the tunnel and charged us a toll. I felt this was very shady. I don't know if the Hyatt employee is aware that the driver he called is doing this, but if he is, he should be made to get an honest quote to guest before he encourages them to let him call them a car service. Other than this, our stay was very enjoyable and I found the staff, location, rooms, and comfort of beds to be perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor with a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place for 12 nights with my boyfriend in march. We had a great stay, no problems at all. The room were spacious enough, we had a great view towards EST and the room is actually really quiet if you don't open the window ;) Breakfast was ok, I would prefer more cheese, sausage etc to put on bread. Might be an european thing, I'm seldom in the mood for jam and toast in the morning. And the signature roll gets boring after so many mornings. I digress, our stay was indeed great. The hotel is located in the middle of everything, with great shopping and walking distance to almost everything else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Midtown South on March 7th and 8th, 2014. Overall a great hotel to stay at. The hotel is only a year old so it is in great condition. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side but look good and are very clean. The breakfast is amazing! I suggest you get there early as the dining area gets crowded around 9:00am. The staff was very polite and helpful. I recommend you get a room on the higher floors facing the Empire State Building in order to have a better view.
The hotel is in a great location. a block away from Macy's and about a 10-15 minute walk to the theatre district and times square.

Room Tip: I recommend you get a room on the higher floors facing the Empire State Building in order to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel was fabulous! Dulce, Raul, Dana and Adela were great! They made us feel like we were part of their families from the moment we got out of our cab. One room had a view of the city and the other had a great view of the Empire State Building. The room was quiet which is impressive for Manhattan. The hotel is close to the subway which took us just about everywhere we wanted to go. It was important to my stepfather that our hotel have free wifi and free breakfast. We got both for an amazing AAA special. The breakfast was very tasty and had a large seating area. Beds were comfy and room was spacious enough for the child and I.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and for a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hyatt Place at 52 West 36th Street this past weekend. We were in NYC for a girls weekend including a Chelsea Handler concert at Madison Square Garden. From the moment I pulled up, I felt well cared for. Raul greeted me, took my luggage and directed me to the parking garage just 8 buildings up on the same block. If you've stayed at at Hyatt Place, this location is sure to please. Good neighborhood, lots of restaurants and bars. Safe and convenient. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52-54 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.