We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair but fawlty towers-esque” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wall Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wall Street Inn to your Saves list
The Wall Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 South William Street, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
rugby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fair but fawlty towers-esque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The place is quite well decorated. Rooms are presentable and with character, bed was lovely and comfortable (and made daily). The bathroom was really nice too, maybe slightly jaded though. However we had a few issues with a boiler that broke down, so no hot water for a day. They sorted it fairly quickly over memorial weekend, so that was pretty good. But my goodness they were surly, indifferent and devoid of any ounce of customer service. The breakfast is beyond poor however. Continental breakfast excludes any cheese, cold meats, cereals or yoghurts. The best thing you get is a bowl of hard boiled eggs that have sat in the fridge for at least one night, and croissants that have been in the display cabinet for days to the extent that they were rock hard. When we asked if there were any fresh they just shrugged and said ' it's not my fault there's no croissants'. Really suspicious that the eggs were cooked days before too. Really shoddy service, really shoddy breakfast, but nice place to stay if you don't mind Manuel and basil fawlty at the helm... Great location too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallStreetInn, General Manager at The Wall Street Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent visit with The Wall Street Inn; we are always glad to hear from our guests and take the opportunity to improve on our offer in kind.

We regret to learn that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We stock fresh products daily and offer only continental items which albeit limited in choice many of our guests find sufficient as a complimentary start of the day. Our staff is always polite and courteous to guests and would never ignore their requests. Given the emergency at hand we trust that the hot water emergency was resolved professionally and expeditiously with the choice of relocation or deeply discounted rate for the spending the night with us along with a nice bottle of wine for the understanding.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us; we know that you have many options for accommodations in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    195
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
67
153
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a really great choice of hotel, more by luck than judgement. It was incredibly quiet, comfortable and well-appointed, and the staff were unfailingly polite and professional. Breakfast was maybe a bit thin for those used to the German style, but a plus point was that tea and biscuits were available in the afternoon.
Room service was absolutely delicious. We tried the soup, the fish and the crêpes, and all were extremely good.
The position of the hotel is also a big advantage. You can walk down to the water's edge and get ferries across the Hudson and East River. This made it a real haven of peace within New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room size and bathroom are of good size for two people. Room is old looking but functional. There is a frig. No counter space in bathroom. Lobby is small but nice. The staff was helpful in all cases, although they couldn't recommend any restaurants other than what is behind their hotel. However, there are some around. The free breakfast is all the carbs you can eat; bread, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, croissants, and orange juice.

Hotel is about 7 minute walk to the nearest subway station. The hotel is good for a business trip stay in the financial district but not so good if you want more night life. Also, it was too far from other neighborhoods. For example, it took about 30 min. to get from Greenwich Village to the hotel. Or, 40 min. to Central Park between hoping on the different subway lines and, or subway delays. Also, if you take the air train from JFK airport then the subway to this hotel, it took me about an hour and 40 minutes between getting my ticket, asking for directions, getting lost once, etc. It cost me about $10 vs. an hour cab ride of $60. Overall, it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in front of the hotel to avoid the noise from restaurant row right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights starting on the 12th May. ,I wasn’t expecting much from this hotel however was pleasant surprised. Its got an old boutique feel to the hotel. Not my personal taste but still very nice.
We flew into JFK and took the air train to Jamica. Its $5 to ride the air train outside of the airport (it links the terminals together) and free if your just transferring between terminals. You can buy your ticket once you get to Jamica – There are plenty of machines before the barriers. We took the J line which only cost $2.50 on the subway, the problem was there was maintenance on the subway (just like in London every weekend) when we travelled and had to get off the subway on part of the trip and get in a shuttle bus. It was extremely inconvenient with large suitcases and we were packed in the bus like migrants! Top Tip – Check for disruptions before you travel!!
The hotel room was small but fine and the bed very comfy. The TV had hundreds of channels, there was a safe, umbrella and lovely shampoo, moisturises etc.
The hairdryer is attached to the wall, not very powerful and in the bathroom. The shower is in the bath and the shower pressure is extremely weak. If you have long hair like I do it took some time to wash the shampoo out. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room however you can get these downstairs next to reception (free of charge 24,7).
The breakfast room is tiny however there is an additional room next door with tables and chairs. There isn’t a sign stating this we found out from another couple telling us. Breakfast is fine, nothing cooked with a selection and breads, bagels, croissants. Perfect really. The staff aren’t particularly friendly but there okay. We decided to get a taxi to return to the airport (JFK) at the end of our holiday. The yellow taxis do a flat rate of $52 (Not including tip) when we asked the hotel to book this for us they told us the use a private taxi firm that’s $41. We were happy to go with this and were collected in a very comfortable people carrier rather than sometimes a not so nice yellow taxi.

Great location for 9/11 memorial, Staten Island Ferry (Free), Centry 21 (dept store, designer labels at cheap prices), Twlight night cruise & Brooklyn Bridge.

If you’ve not been to NYC before remember tax will be added to many food & clothes items at the till despite the tag showing a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near to the lift, as you'll hear it "ping" everytime its used. Addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Although a little shabby in places, carpets, loose sink in room, this hotel was clean with room of a good size for New York. Buffet breakfast is carbs based and tends to run out from 9.15 in the morning - better get up early! Very close to three subway station, many very good eateries close by, Brooklyn Bridge 10 minutes and the 9/11 memorial just 15 minutes walk. Take your own computer as its free to use the wireless broadband but there is a $5 charge to use hotel's business centre. Perfect hotel for business travellers and for couples but not for children. The sort of hotel one would return to.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very clean and friendly family run hotel that is let down by the limited choice at breakfast and no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom. (though free hot drinks and pastries available 24/7 in reception area.). There are plentiful eating places close to the hotel. As the name suggests it is located in the financial district with numerous subway stations within short walking distances, with easy access to all parts of New York. Within walking distance of Brooklyn Bridge and Battery Park. Reception went beyond their duties to help us when Super Shuttle could not find the hotel for our return transfer to the airport, owing to a mix up in the street name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend (from the UK) and made a fantastic choice. It's a really individual, cosy hotel with a personal feel. Perhaps not as 'swish' or large-roomed as some of the big chains but for us it was perfect. Clean, bright, homely. I thought it was in an amazing position, an older building in the middle of the modern city, with a car-free street right out the back where there were a few bars and restaurants, and you could sit outside and enjoy some peace and relative quiet. Breakfast was basic but very acceptable. Metro station within easy walking distance, and as we like walking when we visit cities we ended up walking to some of our destinations straight from the hotel. We loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters, Wall Street
Club Quarters, Wall Street
#209 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Financial District
Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District
Doubletree Hotel New York City-F...
#336 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown Financial
Hampton Inn Manhattan/ Downtown ...
#73 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#306 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#44 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters, World Trade Center
Club Quarters, World Trade Cente...
#107 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wall Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wall Street Inn

Address: 9 South William Street, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wall Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wall Street Inn welcomes you to a perfect downtown location near the New York Stock Exchange and all lower Manhattan corporations. Our intimate hotel brings charm to the traveler and offers comfort at an affordable price. It is ideal for your next business or vacation trip to New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wall Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Street Hotel New York City
Hotel Wall Street
Wall Street Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wall Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.