We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wall Street Inn

Save Saved
You added The Wall Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wall Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 South William Street, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 451 hotels in New York City
Nimes, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a really great choice of hotel, more by luck than judgement. It was incredibly quiet, comfortable and well-appointed, and the staff were unfailingly polite and professional. Breakfast was maybe a bit thin for those used to the German style, but a plus point was that tea and biscuits were available in the afternoon.
Room service was absolutely delicious. We tried the soup, the fish and the crêpes, and all were extremely good.
The position of the hotel is also a big advantage. You can walk down to the water's edge and get ferries across the Hudson and East River. This made it a real haven of peace within New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    177
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
55
119
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room size and bathroom are of good size for two people. Room is old looking but functional. There is a frig. No counter space in bathroom. Lobby is small but nice. The staff was helpful in all cases, although they couldn't recommend any restaurants other than what is behind their hotel. However, there are some around. The free breakfast is all the carbs you can eat; bread, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, croissants, and orange juice.

Hotel is about 7 minute walk to the nearest subway station. The hotel is good for a business trip stay in the financial district but not so good if you want more night life. Also, it was too far from other neighborhoods. For example, it took about 30 min. to get from Greenwich Village to the hotel. Or, 40 min. to Central Park between hoping on the different subway lines and, or subway delays. Also, if you take the air train from JFK airport then the subway to this hotel, it took me about an hour and 40 minutes between getting my ticket, asking for directions, getting lost once, etc. It cost me about $10 vs. an hour cab ride of $60. Overall, it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in front of the hotel to avoid the noise from restaurant row right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights starting on the 12th May. ,I wasn’t expecting much from this hotel however was pleasant surprised. Its got an old boutique feel to the hotel. Not my personal taste but still very nice.
We flew into JFK and took the air train to Jamica. Its $5 to ride the air train outside of the airport (it links the terminals together) and free if your just transferring between terminals. You can buy your ticket once you get to Jamica – There are plenty of machines before the barriers. We took the J line which only cost $2.50 on the subway, the problem was there was maintenance on the subway (just like in London every weekend) when we travelled and had to get off the subway on part of the trip and get in a shuttle bus. It was extremely inconvenient with large suitcases and we were packed in the bus like migrants! Top Tip – Check for disruptions before you travel!!
The hotel room was small but fine and the bed very comfy. The TV had hundreds of channels, there was a safe, umbrella and lovely shampoo, moisturises etc.
The hairdryer is attached to the wall, not very powerful and in the bathroom. The shower is in the bath and the shower pressure is extremely weak. If you have long hair like I do it took some time to wash the shampoo out. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room however you can get these downstairs next to reception (free of charge 24,7).
The breakfast room is tiny however there is an additional room next door with tables and chairs. There isn’t a sign stating this we found out from another couple telling us. Breakfast is fine, nothing cooked with a selection and breads, bagels, croissants. Perfect really. The staff aren’t particularly friendly but there okay. We decided to get a taxi to return to the airport (JFK) at the end of our holiday. The yellow taxis do a flat rate of $52 (Not including tip) when we asked the hotel to book this for us they told us the use a private taxi firm that’s $41. We were happy to go with this and were collected in a very comfortable people carrier rather than sometimes a not so nice yellow taxi.

Great location for 9/11 memorial, Staten Island Ferry (Free), Centry 21 (dept store, designer labels at cheap prices), Twlight night cruise & Brooklyn Bridge.

If you’ve not been to NYC before remember tax will be added to many food & clothes items at the till despite the tag showing a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near to the lift, as you'll hear it "ping" everytime its used. Addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Although a little shabby in places, carpets, loose sink in room, this hotel was clean with room of a good size for New York. Buffet breakfast is carbs based and tends to run out from 9.15 in the morning - better get up early! Very close to three subway station, many very good eateries close by, Brooklyn Bridge 10 minutes and the 9/11 memorial just 15 minutes walk. Take your own computer as its free to use the wireless broadband but there is a $5 charge to use hotel's business centre. Perfect hotel for business travellers and for couples but not for children. The sort of hotel one would return to.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very clean and friendly family run hotel that is let down by the limited choice at breakfast and no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom. (though free hot drinks and pastries available 24/7 in reception area.). There are plentiful eating places close to the hotel. As the name suggests it is located in the financial district with numerous subway stations within short walking distances, with easy access to all parts of New York. Within walking distance of Brooklyn Bridge and Battery Park. Reception went beyond their duties to help us when Super Shuttle could not find the hotel for our return transfer to the airport, owing to a mix up in the street name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend (from the UK) and made a fantastic choice. It's a really individual, cosy hotel with a personal feel. Perhaps not as 'swish' or large-roomed as some of the big chains but for us it was perfect. Clean, bright, homely. I thought it was in an amazing position, an older building in the middle of the modern city, with a car-free street right out the back where there were a few bars and restaurants, and you could sit outside and enjoy some peace and relative quiet. Breakfast was basic but very acceptable. Metro station within easy walking distance, and as we like walking when we visit cities we ended up walking to some of our destinations straight from the hotel. We loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was not expecting anything amazing from this hotel, given the extremely reasonable prices in a very expensive city. I was aware the hotel was in the financial district and not really near to any of the main attractions. In any case me and my boyfriend decided to book, as we don't really mind walking and using public transport, and the price was too good to refuse!
We arrived at JFK airport and took the AirTrain to Jamaica station, from there we got the subway - I think it was line J - all the way to Broad Street station. This took well over an hour but cost only $7.50. When we got to Broad Street there was a map on the wall which fortunately showed the location of the hotel, which was only a few minutes' walk around the corner. I was not expecting to find the hotel so easily, so was pleased that everything went so smoothly!
Check in was quick and the staff were very polite throughout our stay, they always greeted us whenever we walked past reception.
Our room was another nice surprise, it was probably twice the size of previous hotel rooms I have had in NYC. The bathroom was also nice and large with plenty of toiletries. The only problem was the hairdryer was a bit temperamental as the cable was becoming quite worn.
We slept well and did not hear much noise, despite there being a row of bars/restaurants behind the hotel, and our room being directly opposite the lift.
Breakfast was nice with a choice of cereals, bread/toast, bagels with jam or cream cheese, fruit and pastries. There was also tea, coffee and orange juice. We received a free copy of the New York Times each day, so it was nice to look at this over breakfast.
The hotel has a small gym and a sauna in the basement, although we didn't have time to use these.
The area is actually more convenient than I had expected, the Staten Island Ferry and 9/11 Memorial are only a short walk away. For Times Square etc I would recommend taking the subway as it took us a good couple of hours or so to walk there! The fare is only $2.50 per trip on the subway, so not exactly expensive.
There are plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area, certainly not short of places to eat.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice place to stay, on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wall Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wall Street Inn

Address: 9 South William Street, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10004
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wall Street Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wall Street Inn welcomes you to a perfect downtown location near the New York Stock Exchange and all lower Manhattan corporations. Our intimate hotel brings charm to the traveler and offers comfort at an affordable price. It is ideal for your next business or vacation trip to New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Wall Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Street Hotel New York City
Hotel Wall Street
Wall Street Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wall Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.