We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Once - A New Musical

Once - A New Musical
242 West 45th Street, Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre, New York City, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$132*
and up
Ranked #156 of 809 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once is the celebrated new musical based on the Academy Award-winning film. It tells the story of an Irish musician and a Czech immigrant drawn together by their shared love of music. Over the course of one fateful week, their unexpected friendship and collaboration evolves into a powerful but complicated romance, heightened by the raw emotion of the songs they create together. Brought to the stage by an award-winning team of visionary artists and featuring an ensemble cast of gifted actor/musicians, once is a musical celebration of life and love: thrilling in its originality, daring in its honesty... and unforgettable in every way.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I did not know anything about the story before attending the show. I found this show to be a bit boring and at times it just went really slow. My friend loved it.

Given all the great review, it is probably just me. I usually pick more upbeat, lyrics and stories I know when going to a show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    194
    83
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was not disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Loved this movie and soundtrack, so it was a no brainer when we were researching Broadway shows before our trip to NY. Did not disappoint! Cast were great, fantastic singers, great chemistry. Funny, endearing and well worth the money!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous music and story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The small cast was incredible. There were 12-14 performers that came in and out of the scenes as needed in the storyline. It was just the performers and their instruments, no big orchestra. The main characters sang and played the guitar and piano. I have been to over 30 broadway shows and this was one of my favorites. The story was great and the talent of the cast was amazing. Like other reviewers indicated, go early and listen to the cast perform. I highly recommend this musical. You won't regret it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once is romantic and funny and cleverly staged and one of those musicals that I will want to see again. I've already bought the soundtrack–the Irish music is really spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Musical I Have Seen In Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The music was fantastic and the story line well paced. This show was a real treat. The cast was so talented, singing and playing multiple instruments. I would recommend this performance against any on Broadway.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Once - A New Musical also viewed

 

Been to Once - A New Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Once - A New Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.