We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see (and hear)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Once - A New Musical

Once - A New Musical
242 West 45th Street, Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre, New York City, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$132*
and up
Ranked #155 of 808 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once is the celebrated new musical based on the Academy Award-winning film. It tells the story of an Irish musician and a Czech immigrant drawn together by their shared love of music. Over the course of one fateful week, their unexpected friendship and collaboration evolves into a powerful but complicated romance, heightened by the raw emotion of the songs they create together. Brought to the stage by an award-winning team of visionary artists and featuring an ensemble cast of gifted actor/musicians, once is a musical celebration of life and love: thrilling in its originality, daring in its honesty... and unforgettable in every way.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must see (and hear)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the movie and the musical didn't disappoint! Cast was amazing with fantastic voices. I would strongly recommend watching the movie first. We went with another couple who hadnt seen the movie and although they enjoyed the musical they had some trouble following the story.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    193
    83
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The music lives up to Glen Hansard's movie standards. We loved the music prior to the play and thoroughly enjoyed the musicians/actors performance of the fantastic music. DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW if you get a chance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well worth the expense!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When I found out how much my husband spent on a ticket to this play, I was flabbergasted. However, after seeing it, it was absolutely the very best play I have ever seen. All the characters played multiple musical instruments, had great voices, and could dance. The plot was intricate and surprising at the end although there were a few slow moving scenes. Set design was exceptional and changes were quick, quiet, and magical. I would really encourage you to see this play. I cried at the end because I was so moved by the quality of the story, the aura of the theater, and the multi-talented cast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I just did not get the fuss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The stage innovations, use of set, and having the musicians on stage are all unique and fun and are what saved the show for me at least. The story is basic romance with a less than happy ending, the music, which is supposed to be SO good, is just your run of the mill Broadway show tunes. The best music is before the show with the musicians treating you to some good Irish music - however, this is not any better than you can likely find at your own Irish pub gathering. I stayed awake, barely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Cant recommend more highly.

Enormously talented cast and mesmorising from beginning to end.

Didnt know anything about it until we arrived in New York and simply booked tickets in a whim.

Simply wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Once - A New Musical also viewed

 

Been to Once - A New Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Once - A New Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.