We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Westin New York at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New York at Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #154 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is a block away from Times Square and in the heart of the theatre district.

We had a room with two double beds and found it quite comfortable. By NYC standards, it was quite spacious, although probably cramped for a hotel anywhere else.

The hotel was very clean and they did a great job at cleaning and stocking our room each day. We arrived at 11:00 and expected just to check our luggage for the day but to our pleasant surprise our room was ready. Check in was fairly quick and efficient. You have to go up the escalator to check in. There are two sets of elevators and which one you take depends on which floors you're on. Checking out and getting our luggage took a while but I think we just hit it when everyone else was trying to check out.

The room had all the usual features including a fully stocked bar fridge. We were on the 11th floor and did not have a view at all. Our room was close to the elvator and the first night, there was noise as people talked when they walked by (they couldn't help but walk by our room) but the second night we didn't hear a peep.

The hotel is stylish with a large lobby area to relax. There is an site bar that opens at 5:00 p.m. There is a movie theatre right in the back of the hotel complex that you don't even have to go outside for. There is free wifi in the lobby but you pay a high fee for it in the room and only get three devices (we had four cell phones and an iPad). There are two computers and a printer on the lower level. Printing boarding passes is free but internet use is $9 for 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay. Next time you have a reservation with us, contact us directly with your confirmation so that we can coordinate an even better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,966
    1,413
    511
    217
    105
See reviews for
996
1150
223
734
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just came back from a family trip to NYC where we stayed three nights at this hotel. We were two adults and two teens in a two queen size bed room on the 32nd floor which was identified as "newly renovated".

The room was very spacious, especially by Manhattan standards. It was well decorated, had a large HD TV, and comfortable beds. The bathroom had a shower in the tub and marble on the walls. The shower curtain extended out so it did not touch you when you were in the shower and the shower head was an overhead type that came straight down (a nice touch). The air conditioning was good, not too noisy, and the view was nice. The wifi in the lobbey was good, fast enough for regular web browsing and booking tickets. Overall, it was nice, comfortable and clean.

There were a few small issues. We waited in line for over 15 minutes to get to the checkin counter. They had 4 people doing checkins so maybe it was just a rush of people. We were there for 3 nights, on one day we left the room at 8:30 AM and returned at 4:00 PM but our room had not been cleaned. We informed the front desk and they cleaned it while we were out for dinner. The room is supposed to have free bottled water, which I assumed was every day, but we only had a single bottle on the first day we checked in and none after that (not a big deal for us). The closet doors slide side to side, but ours kept falling off the tracks which made opening/closing them difficult. Other than the uncleaned room, these were all small issues.

All of the hotel staff were friendly. We tried to book a few show tickets with the concierge who tried multiple shows for us, but it didn't work out. He was very helpful though. The front desk were all polite. We went to the hotel Bar on two evenings and were served by 3 different waitresses. Only one of them was friendly, the others didn't smile and barely spoke.

Overall, its a nice hotel, clean, safe, comfortable and in a great location. I'll stay there again next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were 4 girls during Easter week end 2014, 21st floor room, nice view,excellent location directly in Time Square, rooms and bathroom are clean, neat,tidy,confortable bed,good service, free wifi in the lobby. expensive but was worth it ! also, you can actually open the windows, I like the white noise of the city plus fresh air !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are thrilled that you all had a fabulous time and enjoyed your room! We can't wait to have you back again - for any occasion! We will be here waiting to welcome you back.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's hard to be optimistic when you are staying in a hotel in the city your used to live in, but the Westin wowed and made it a very special visit. Grandmother, grand daughters and family all came together to celebrate. Right in the heart of Times Square we walked to all the theatre and restaurants we needed. Our room was on the top floor—45— with spanning views of the city. And the junior suite was clean, modern and spacious and enough to have privacy even with 3 kids. Breakfast was amazing with a large selection of healthy foods, not pseudo healthy foods. We had rooms next to each other and beds were classically comfortable—heavenly. Service was outstanding and they couldn't have done more for us. The perfect stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet and away from Time Square chaos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
It is so wonderful to know that you and your family had an amazing visit with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations with the fabulous view! Let us know next you have a reservation with us so that we can coordinate the same experience - if not better!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

First of all, I've been to NYC many, many times and I'd have to say this was the best trip ever! It all started with trying to get an early check in and talking to the most fantastic agent ever! Leslie Ann (I wish I would've gotten her last name) was so professional, kind, helpful and accomodating!! Thank you! Our corner room on the 31st floor was spacious, immaculate, lovely and HAD THE BEST VIEW OF THE CITY EVER!!!! Wowzers!! We couldn't be happier and just wished we could've stayed longer, but we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Gillian ~ it is so wonderful to know that that you enjoyed your visit and that Leslie Ann made you feel welcome and special. We are fortunate to have Leslie Ann on our team! We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Westin New York at Times Square from February 28th - 30th, 2014. The staff at the Front Desk were amazing! The room was even better than the last time that we stayed there. They have renovated the rooms and bathrooms, and I have to say that it was perfection. The Heavenly Beds were so comfortable. I would always stay at this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Louis ~ thank you so much for the awesome feedback! We can't wait to have you back soon! We will be here waiting for you!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in April as a trip for my Husband's 50th Birthday. We were given a room with an amazing view of Times Square and the Empire State Building. My husband also received a lovely Birthday card and a bottle of Champagne from staff. I can not praise or recommend this hotel enough - It's location is central to everything, rooms are decorated beautifully and cleaned a an extremely high standard. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, will definitely be returning to NYC and to The Westin. Special Thanks to Karina who made sure our special trip was one we shall always treasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are thrilled that Karina and the rest of our team were successful in creating a lasting memory of your recent stay with us - in celebration of your husband's birthday! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin New York at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York at Times Square

Address: 270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York at Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Times Square Hotel is located in the heart of New York. The Westin New York at Times Square Hotel offers a great location and comforting accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin New York at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin New York At Times Square Hotel New York City
Westin Times Square
Westin New York City
Westin New York Times Square
Westin Hotel New York
New York City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.