We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, fabulous view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Westin New York at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin New York at Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #156 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, fabulous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location, location, location! This Westin is smack-dab in the middle of Broadway. You can walk to any Broadway show within 15 minutes. The gentleman that checked me in was so accommodating and friendly. I stayed in a corner room with a "wrap around view" on the 35th floor...gorgeous!! The room looked and smelled fresh. Their trademark "Heavenly" beds are simply divine!!! I never have a bad experience at this hotel. I have stayed at this hotel every year since 2005. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to my next visit in 2014! If you stop-in at the bar, ask for a "Ginger Margarita"...it's not on the menu, but it used to be a signature favorite. A++ accommodations!

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer a gorgeous "wrap around" view!
See more room tips
Green Features: This Westin does everything right and keeps me coming back. Broadway, subways, and Central Park are a short walking distance.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    1,427
    516
    223
    107
See reviews for
1048
1189
228
759
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you want to stay close to Times Square without being immersed in it, this is a great choice. It's a short walk to all the action of the Square, and most Broadway shows. Lots of food choices in this area as well.

We got a good deal on a room rate...we would happily stay again, yet we are price shoppers, and the accommodation of choice often comes down to this major factor.

Room Tip: Height and viewing choices are everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful and outstanding stay with a perfect view at the Huston river. The Westin staff just made it more perfect with a nice cake as surprise in the room for the birthday of our son.Thank you all. My great thanks goes to miss Jelissa who made this a special holiday for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It is terrific to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your son's birthday celebration memorable! I will pass on your compliments to Jelissa! Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stay in NYC frequently and try to be loyal to Starwood. The westin is an excellent option and frequently has good rates. I have always had a terrific experience at this hotel. The location is within walking distance of theatre and Times Square and so many restaurants. Subway access is amazing. The views from the high floor rooms is awesome. The hotel has a well equipped and very clean gym. The best feature of the hotel is its friendly and helpful staff. The staff goes out of its way to make the guest experience exceptional.

Room Tip: High floor corner renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my third stay at the Westin this year and probably my best.

The Westin is always number one when I'm visiting the city. I love the location, near to Times Square. The staff are always helpful, courteous and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the heavenly beds are to die for. The newly renovated rooms are so much better than the old style. The renovated rooms have done away with those awful stainless steel sinks that made the bathrooms look so ugly. I booked a corner room, so worth the extra!!!

Likes:
Location
Staff
Rooms

Dislikes
Wifi charge especially when you've paid $416 a night

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are between 23-34 floors ask for one of these!!! Book a corner room worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location for touring or business as we do both here. Service is prompt and room is true to the brand we always trust while traveling. Love the beds and linens, very good nights rest. Room service is timely and costs the same as others in this city, high, but it is New York after all. Doorman will always find a car or taxi for you as soon as you walk out to the street. Very well run and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It is wonderful to know that you liked everything about your visit with us! You can be sure that your compliments will shared with all! Next time you have a reservation with us, let us know so that you will have the same experience, if not better!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Dropped in for a night to visit some clients; great location with respect to walking proximity to my clients. I requested and was granted late checkout (2pm) the next day so that I could get refreshed before heading out to the airport after morning meetings. When I got back to the room at 12:30pm, the maid was in the middle of cleaning the room...she said she was trying to get a head start. Since she had already cleaned the bathroom & shower area, I hoped she clean it again after I checked out.

I arrived late the night before meetings, and was hoping to get a decent beer at the lobby bar. But everything was bottled - not a single draft beer to be had...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It is good to know that you enjoyed your visit. We will follow up on better coordination of the room attendant schedule, and also share your comment regarding availabilility of draft beer in the bar. Come back soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New York at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York at Times Square

Address: 270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York at Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Times Square Hotel is located in the heart of New York. The Westin New York at Times Square Hotel offers a great location and comforting accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin New York at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin New York At Times Square Hotel New York City
Westin Times Square
Westin New York City
Westin New York Times Square
Westin Hotel New York
New York City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.