We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New York at Times Square to your Saves list
The Westin New York at Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #158 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Celebrating a special anniversary, my husband and I stayed overnight after a show and dinner. Chose this hotel because we arrived via Port Authority and it was nearby. Stayed in a corner room on the 43rd floor and loved the view of the Empire State Building. The bed was comfy and the room appeared to be newly redecorated- tile work in bathroom was beautiful, great shower, robes, towels and all linens top shelf. Very comfy! I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Corners are best - lots of windows, great views 30 + floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are thrilled to know that we were successful in making your special anniversary a memorable one! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,134
    1,501
    543
    236
    116
See reviews for
1,112
1,253
233
807
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just arrived home after a pleasant 3 day stay in New York!
The Westin Hotel was in a great location, close to the centre of Times Square, but not so much that it is too noisy.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the men at the ground floor reception who helped us with our luggage.
The lobby and overall hotel was clean and extravagant!
The bedroom was quite basic, but nice to stay in. Loved the massive tv in the room though!
Mini fridge had a wide range of food and drink, however we could not find a price list so that was quite inconvenient as we didn't know how much we were spending.
Free wifi was also good but confusing, you have to join their hotel club or something to be able to use it, but you still have to select the payment option when you use it. We worked it out in the end but it seemed a bit too confusing for what it needed to be.
View of the city out of the window was amazing as we were so high!
Overall, had a great stay at the hotel and would return again or recommend to a friend, if we ever came back to New York!

Room Tip: Would recommend a high floor as you get such a great view, and are away from the street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Esther ~ it is great to see that you enjoyed your visit with us! Next time you come, contact us directly with your confirmation number so that we can make sure that your experience will be even better than the last. See you soon!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been using Tripadvisor for years, and this is my first time that I'm leaving a review, as I'm appalled by the poor service at Westin Times Square.

We chose this hotel even though it out of 100 ranking, as it was near to Times Square and it was after all Westin!

Checked in with little issue, went to the room and realized there wasn't the basic amenities like Shower gel or body lotion. It came with a thin bar of soup and shampoo only.

Also sad that we were promised that we will receive a US tennis Open goodie bag but it wasn't in the room in first day. The next day we had to ask for it, at least it was provided on the same day.

Also, in our confirmation email, it was written that we will have free wifi, but we had to purchase it at us$14 per day! Luckily during check out, they agreed to waive it.

The most disappointing part was the service during check out. The lady serving me yawned in my face at least 4 times in 10min, without closing her mouth. I was disgusted and couldn't wait to get out of the hotel!

The real saving grace is the good location of the hotel and their lifts are very prompt.

I will never step into this or any other Westin again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It is discouraging to see that we failed in our overall service to you when you were here recently, especially at check-out. On behaf of the entire staff - I apologize for this. Please give us another try by booking another reservation. When you do, contact me directly so that I make all the arrangements so that your experience will be wonderful. I hope to hear from you.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

i am in a renovated room on the 32 floor, and other than it being noisy due to design of the room (lifts shaft behind and the door right in the room (no corridor), its fine. and in fact thats it for this hotel its just "ok". the breakfast is waiter service which is fine i guess but means there are long queues (bfast is served in the steak house). so if you get a good rate, its centrally located but there are better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are sorry to know that you found our hotel 'just so'. Please give us another try by booking another reservation, then contact me directly. We want to show you the type of service you should have experienced. I hope to hear from you.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we travel internationally to Western countries we like to stay at Westin Hotels, this one is not one of them. Staff very unfriendly verging on rude, hotel room needs renovation, lobby, hallways and room carpets were all threadbare. No breakfast. Concierge laughed at us when we asked the best way to get across to Jersey, saying why would you want to go to Jersey? If you like spending a lot of money for no service and low level of fittings and fixtures just to be near times square, go for it, if you want quality and a better position to see the better parts of New York, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Has it got a good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience you had recently at our hotel. Please give us another opportunity by booking another reservation. Contact me directly and I wil make sure that your experience will be much, much better. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Located a block off Times Square, in an area of parking garages, this hotel does not reach its potential. Our room, supposedly deluxe, for which an extra amount was charged, had an airconditioning system that was just a few decibels lower than a jet plane. It produced air that could have been used in a walk-in freezer. The deluxe room came with plastic disposable cups appropriate to a discount hotel, which were not even replaced when thrown out. Valet parking took 40 minutes to deliver our car. The hotel refused to credit my loyalty account with the appropriate number of points, relying on an invisible rule that allegedly excluded purchases from third party vendors. In all, not a great experience.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It is disappointing to see that your experience recently was not what it should be. If you can give us another opportunity, it would be great if you could book another reservation so that we can show you a much better visit. Contact me directly once your reservation is booked and I will personally that you will have special attention.

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The front desk at the NY Westin at Times Square is staffed by some of the finest personnel that I have ever encountered. Luis is always very helpful and very friendly. On my most recent visit I had taken a red eye from the west coast and was looking to shower and change. I was greeted by Cesar who politely told me that my assigned room was not yet ready. Cesar made it a point of going out of his way to find me a similar room that was ready, something that was not that easy as the hotel had been fully occupied the prior night and, it was still early in the morning. He could have just asked me for my mobile number and said that the hotel would notify me when my room was ready. He went above and beyond the norm in assisting me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessieTS, Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It is wonderful to see our staff being complimented, and yes, couple of our Stars are Luis and Cesar. This is why are guests keeping coming back! We look forward to seeing you again and again!

Warmest,
jessie
YourWestinTSqExperience@Westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New York at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York at Times Square

Address: 270 West 43rd Street, At 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New York at Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 863
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Times Square Hotel is located in the heart of New York. The Westin New York at Times Square Hotel offers a great location and comforting accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New York at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin New York At Times Square Hotel New York City
Westin Times Square
Westin New York City
Westin New York Times Square
Westin Hotel New York
New York City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New York at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.