We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My daughter was badly bitten by bed bugs. Even the doctor at NY hospital was amazed at the size of the bites. Although the hotel changed our room, we had to request to get medical attention. We had to get to the hospital ourself. It spoilt my daughter's plans. She was going around in clothes that fully covered her upper body due to embarrassment on the awful bites on her body. Management made no attempts to apologize.

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Dear chrisj28,
Thank you for posting your feedback! We are very concerned about your experience as it is very unusual. Cleanliness is of paramount importance to us. Our research indicated you stayed in the room with no issues for 4 nights. You then extended your stay for 5 more nights as you were very satisfied with the room. It was at that point that you brought the incident to our attention upon which we immediately moved you to another room. Despite never having had any such incident in the past we took extensive steps to resolve the problem. With regard to your statement that the second room had bed bugs, we would like to state that a thorough examination by professionals in this area revealed nothing. Furthermore, investigators from the insurance company also came to the conclusion that there was no negligence on our part. Regrettably, there are occasions when people traveling bring extraneous matter with them. While that is not within our control, we always ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness are maintained both to prevent any such occurrence and to mitigate incidents. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and I believe you are already in touch with our General Manager and the insurance company regarding this matter.
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    936
    287
    84
    76
See reviews for
619
656
95
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in August 2009 for the first times - spending a few days in NY on my own after going to the West Coast, and was conquered at once!
In March, I went back to New York for a week with two friends, and after a lot of search, I booked a room there again as there was no reason to book anywhere else!
We are now going back for New Year's eve, and the hotel has been booked since May - no doubt about where we're staying anymore! :o)
The Quality/Price comparison is really good, free breakfast is definately a plus and the room was always spotless when we came back after a day out and about!
The location is just perfect, close to Times Square but not in the midst of it all, which allows you to sleep (when there is some noise, earplugs are more than enough to sleep like a dream), especially because the matresses are very comfy!

If you are still doubting about where to stay, don't! This is the right place to be in New York City!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Claroline,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to tell other travelers about your numerous good experiences at The Hotel at Times Square! We pride ourselves in giving our guests a good service so they can have a memorable stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again very soon!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for Colombus day weekend. The hotel was very close to
Times Square and all of the sights! The room was smallish, but you are really only in the
room to sleep right? The continental breakfast was, fruit, toast and bagels. Tiny room
with all lot of people and few seats. We grabbed some fruit and went back to our room to get ready for our day.It's a plus for people who want a little something in the morning.
We found the hotel suitable for our needs, clean, prompt service and definitly close to
Times square. I will say we asked the girl at the information desk a few questions and she
seemed preoccupied and not that interested in helping us. A little young for that job I think.
Otherwise we had no issues and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Dabra21,
Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our people indeed love our location: one block away from Times Square and 2 minutes away from Fifth Avenue shopping! Our breakfast room accommodates over 70 people at a given time but occasionally more than that number chooses to come down for breakfast at the same time. Nevertheless, it is as you note a “plus” and is much appreciated by all our guests. Please do accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you faced with our concierge. Concierge services is a service that our hotel outsources. We realize that, as any of our employees, she contributes to the service we offer, so we have passed on your review to the concierge's manager to take the necessary steps so it doesn't happen again. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you and your girlfriends soon in the future again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I was with a friend before our cruise and spent 4 days here. This was a great find.
The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Also very quite. The breakfast was very adequate and offered a much bigger selection than expected. All the staff was friendly and very helpful. All in all this was a very pleasant stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our 3 day stay in NYC was the hardest to book. I couldn't believe the price of Hotels in the city and it was with some degree of resignation that I booked this hotel. The location was superb, 2 blocks from the heart of Times Square and getting around was easy.

The hotel itself has a nice reception area with a TV, sofas and 2 internet PC's. There are 2 different lifts which service different areas of the hotel. We were at the back and our lift was very heavily used.

Our room was adequate. It was quite small, compared to other hotels we had stayed at in other cities, but had a comfortable bed, working TV and an OK bathroom. Our 'view' was of fire escapes for other buildings and the air con was a little noisy.

The included breakfast was basic, with toast, yoghurts, cereals and donuts!. It was also very busy and finding somewhere to sit was difficult. We did like the small bar on the 2nd floor, with friendly, helpful bar staff and cheepish beer.

At check out I asked the lady at the information desk if she would book us a taxi to the airport. She did this and took a $10 deposit. I enquired what this was for and she said it would be given to the driver and taken off our bill. However it was not given to the driver, so it was basically a booking fee. My advice: Don't get ripped off by the hotel, hail a cab from the street

We really liked New York and just wished that the hotels were cheaper. Certainly the most expensive city to stay in that I have visited.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear iceward:
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely apologize if you found our hotel to be overpriced, but I can assure you that, compared to the amenities we offer (free Continental breakfast, free Wifi, fitness and business centers…), our rates are very competitive with other hotels around the area. The $10 that the concierge asked you for is a service charge for booking a limo. The car you got was indeed a limo and not a yellow cab as we cannot book yellow cabs, which explains the surcharge. Limos will come to pick you up at a precise time while yellow cabs can only be hailed in the street and it is sometimes diffcilut to find one available. We apologize if there was any misunderstanding with our concierge on this matter. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to host you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at The Hotel@Times Square for 4 days in mid - late October. We were impressed with the excellent standard of service, general cleanliness and room facilities. The continental breakfast included in the price is also a big plus and pretty good!

Free wifi is something even the big hotels don't provide so it was good that this was provided, both in the lobby and in your room.

For us though we found the location perfect. We went with my 6 year old son who isn't really up for spending the whole day walking. To be fair he didn't need to with the hotel being 1 block from Times Square and literally a 2 min walk from the 47-50th St Rockefeller Center subway station. There were many eating options, mostly fast food, nearby.

A few very minor drawbacks - firstly the cost but that is standard in Manhattan so you'll have to come to terms with that. Otherwise, some of the hallways could do with a refurb and breakfast can get busy between 8.30 - 10.00 but no other problems.

We recommend it. Give it a try and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Nellym:
Thank you very much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and are delighted to hear that you were impressed with our service, cleanliness and room facilities. The overwhelming majority of our guests indeed finds our hotel to be of great value for the price, based on all the free amenities we offer and the location.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed here from the 6th to the 12th of October (6 nights, 4 people), we booked the 2 bedroom suite and it was perfect. I had spent a few weeks online looking for a good deal, as NYC hotel prices are so expensive and it seems October is one of the more expensive months.
The hotel location was PERFECT!It is a 2 block walk to Times Square one way, and a 2 Block walk to 5th Avenue on the other side.
The hotel staff were lovely- no issues on checking in. We arrived before the check in time but there was no problem in checking early. We had a problem with a key card on one occasion and it was sorted straight away. The cleaning lady was so friendly and even on our last night, she changed everything so we could have a 'pleasant last nights stay in new york'- her words. Towels were replaced everyday which was fantastic.
The breakfast was good, a cold breakfast, but it was perfect to set you up for the day especially when you are heading out early in the morning.
The room was ample in comparison to others I've stayed in NYC, and it was very clean.
The noise was not bad at all. Although as we were there for Columbus Day-5th avenue was closed off for parades and markets, noisy but a great experience!
The internet was free, and my partner seemed to always get onto a computer without having to wait very long.
There are complaints about the lifts, but we found this fine. There are only 2 but they are not as slow as some reviews here online suggest.
The hotel bar, my parents had one drink here, it was OK but had no atmosphere.
Taxi's were easy to get outside the front door also.
All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, it is a basic hotel but its comfort and affordability are fantastic. It is ideal for a sightseeing and shopping break in NYC, so you can save your money for 5th avenue.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear travel_loulou,
Thank you for your nice review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to accommodate all the requests we receive. If rooms are available for early check-in, we are always happy to give them to guests. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our housekeeping service. Our location is also great as you mentioned for sightseeing and shopping: The Hotel at Times Square is indeed located a block away from Fifth Avenue and Times Square, and very close to the MoMA, the Empire State Building and more! We thank you again for staying with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.