We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Nights in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Four Nights in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent four nights here with a friend. The location is great, conveniently located to Times Square area and Theater District. Check-in was a breeze and the staff friendly. The room was clean, updated and spacious for two people, and even though we were located right next to the elevator, it was quiet. The breakfast room was busy, but in my opinion there were plenty of choices - bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs. Complimentary coffee, tea, and water in the lobby was also a nice touch. There is also fee wifi. My only complaint is that there is no ventilation in the bathroom and as a result, the room would get warm & damp after hot showers - even with the air conditioning on full blast. In spite of that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    838
    251
    75
    69
See reviews for
567
586
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I went to NY with my mom and sister, we stayed at this hotel and found it central to everything. Fantastic. Rooms were clean bathroom clean hard to air the room cause Windows don't open, with three people staying in it could have been slightly bigger. But would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room to manoeuvre there was three in our room floor space a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sharon M,
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a great time in New York City. We apologize for the windows. Unfortunately, we cannot allow guests to open the windows due to safety reasons. Our rooms vary somewhat in size, but most are about average for hotel rooms in Manhattan.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and nice hotel, 5 minutes walking from Time Squares. Our room was quite spacious and very hot. Only negative point is that all windows cannot be opened, at all!! Breakfast was ok, the choice is not too much especially if you arrived after the breakfast time is started!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted a more upscale hotel closer to Times Square but we booked too late and ended up here only to be surprised by how clean and updated the old hotel was. Entering the lobby there was a nice reception area complete with computers and complimentary beverages and a concierge desk. All the furnishings were new and modern and very clean. Our room, was also furnished nicely with comfortable beds, crisp white linens and even under our travel blacklight we found nothing less than perfect cleanliness on the beds and in the bathroom. The elevators maintained the original look and feel of the old hotel as well as the stairs and the mail slot in the hallway which was a nice reminder of days gone by without compromising modern amenities. There was a breakfast bar downstairs each morning and while not some kind of full buffet it was far more than the typical continental breakfast generally served at your average hotel. The hotel was a short 3-4 block walk to Times Square and to most of the theatres and MANY restaurants. NYC Hotels Ive visited before have ranged from average hotel room size to teeny tiny and this one was a surprising average hotel room size with plenty of room for our two full size beds and walking around room for both. Although the air conditioner could have used a boost and the view was of an alley full of garbage...but the hot water in the shower was fast and plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful and the rate was on target. Free wifi was a nice bonus. There was a bar in the hotel but we never made it to the second floor to check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for street view..we booked late and ended up with a view of trash alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear LoriLogic,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us better our services, but particularly enjoy thoughtful feedback like yours.
We apologize for the view. Unfortunately, not all of our rooms can have street views because of surrounding buildings. You can always request one on booking, but we cannot always guarantee it.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a 3-night stay at The Hotel @ Times Square. There were 3 adults and we stayed in the 2 BR family room. Great choice for us! The rooms looks exactly like the photos shown on the Oyster.com website. I was a bit worried about our comfort but it turned out fantastic! The only downfall is the bathroom is shared....it is on the side with the KS bed. This was only a minor problem as we were 3 adults and we would have loved having an extra bathroom! The bathroom has dispensers for soap, shampoo and hand/body lotion. I didn't use them as I brought my own.

The room with Queen bed has the coffee maker and desk. Both rooms were surprisingly spacious for NYC. We had a room on the 4th floor. Although it had windows in every bedroom, it was dark and gloomy....we faced into brick walls. We didn't let that bother us as we just turned on the lights anyways and we didn't spend any time in the room except to sleep. It was nice having a door that closes between the 2 rooms for privacy. We really didn't notice any street noise!

A negative: Upon arrival, one pillow case was stained and the KS duvet cover had "blood/ketchup?" stains on it. We called housekeeping immediately and it was corrected within minutes. The staff member was "shocked" (looking at her face) when I pointed out the red stains on the duvet cover but she quickly replaced it (bad quality control?). I wasn't pleased that all the bedding/blankets and pillows were put on the floor as she changed the duvet cover (I hate the thought of dust and bugs!) but I guess we don't see these things if the rooms are made up while you are out. At home, I NEVER put any type of bedding on the floor! Oh well....there were no bedbugs...we checked.

Complimentary Breakfast.....it was regular fare (cereal including instant oatmeal pkgs, toast, teeny muffins, yogurt, bananas and apples and I think I saw some people with pancakes/waffles that you could heat up in the toaster?) I didn't end up having anything "toasted" because the lineups were rather long and slow! That was the bad part....and the room was always crowded when we went for breakfast around 9 am. I noticed people "saving tables" but I think that made it worse because people would be walking around balancing their food on the paper plates and looking for a place to sit, often without immediate luck (like me!). They should have a general courtesy rule....get your food then find a place to sit because often, by the time you got your food, others would have eaten and their places to sit were free. This is not a room where you would feel happy to relax with conversation over breakfast! No no no...you just eat and go! One day we offered the other 2 seats at our table to 2 strangers who happily accepted! :) One day there were boiled eggs (kept warm in hot water in a slow cooker) but on the weekend days, NONE! That was sad because boiled eggs are actually what I eat for breakfast regularly! It was "Brazillian Weekend celebrations" on the street outside the hotel so maybe that's why they didn't have the hard boiled eggs on Saturday and Sunday?

Elevators - there are 2 and we didn't have any trouble getting one. Tip: Press both the up and down buttons and one comes faster! Being on the 4th floor, we used the stairs to come down to the lobby........beware, the top step of the first staircase (staircase from lobby to first floor), is slightly "higher" than the rest so if you aren't careful, you can easily stumble. I did and it wasn't fun tripping!

The lobby has a few computers that you can use with internet. Internet wifi was free and always consistent in our room. Loved it! There is also a machine for free coffee/tea tucked away by the ice machine around the corner from the elevators.....a nice perk when you are coming/going! I had a mocha 50/50 twice! Unfortunately, the machine didn't work on the last day of our stay.

The hotel is on a street appropriately named "Little Brazil"....there are brazillian-types of restaurants around and other restaurants down the street too. You are only a few blocks walk to the action of Times Square and around the corner from the shops of Fifth Avenue. Walk up Fifth Avenue and after 20 minutes of window shopping up Fifth Avenue, you are at the south end of Central Park! It is a great location for catching a subway too as the station entrance is less than 2 blocks away from the hotel.

The price is very reasonable and you can't beat grabbing breakfast before going out on the town--even if you have to line up awhile! My friend felt the hotel was "a little tired looking" but hey, it was clean and the beds super comfortable! They offer a AAA discount and will adjust room prices if they differ from when you first booked. (I booked 6 months in advance).

The painter was on our floor sprucing up the hallway during our stay so they do show they are keeping up with general maintenance! I found this hotel to be of great value (2014) and will choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the street for better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I together with our two daughters stayed there for a few days as we wanted to be on Manhattan Island and near Times Square to attend the New Years Eve count down there.
This hotel was easy to reach via the metro rail. It was a great location for visiting Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Empire State building and for doing shopping along Fifth Ave and visiting many other attractions and restaurants
Upon our arrival we were welcomed in a friendly way at reception while our check-in was done fast and efficiently. The room and the public areas was found to be clean and well maintained. We experienced the room to be spacious enough for 4 of us with all amenities provided. The complimentary breakfast they provide was good and included cereals, bagels, waffles, pancakes, eggs, toast and coffee/tea/milk/juice and yogurt. Overall it was a good place to stay at a reasonable price for Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room and bed was ok, bathroom clean and tidy. Internet and printer available in lobby.
Our main concern was breakfast. First morning it was chaotic, with a few standing to eat around 9:00am. Second day we went at 8:00am and food items had not run out at that time.
Breakfast menu was limited, hot items were DIY porridge, eggs and toast.
Having stayed in many guest houses and hotels around the world, it is the first we have eaten off paper plates with plastic knives and forks. We could have been at a Mcdonalds.
There was a basket in the dining room for tips, which seem strange since it was completly self service and no washing up required.
Hotel near subway.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter. With 2 lifts and 14 floors there are some delays at busy times. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Retired_Traveller49,
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a great time in New York City.
We’re sorry you were not pleased with breakfast. It can get crowded when we are at full occupancy. We always try to keep the options fully stocked until breakfast is over at 10am. We apologize for the disposable plates and utensils. Unfortunately, we do not have enough space to wash re-usable silverware.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.