We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on the recommendation of a co-worker, I booked this hotel just three days before my trip to NYC. I'm glad I listened to him! The location is excellent - just far enough away from Times Square area to avoid the noise, but close enough to get there with no problem. At the other end of the block is 5th Ave, which translates to plenty of tourist attractions (Empire State Building, NY Public LIbrary, Rockefeller Center), shopping, and restaurants. The price was reasonable, the room was clean, yes, the hallways are kind of wonky, but this hotel certainly has character (and free breakfast and Wi-Fi). The view from our room was nothing to write home about, but I didn't come to NYC to sit in a hotel - I came to enjoy the city. And we did. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jewels6399,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and use it to try and provide a better customer experience but are particularly thankful for thoughtful reviews like yours. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the excellent value we provide and hope you had fun in New York City.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    841
    251
    75
    69
See reviews for
569
589
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A very comfortable hotel. Good breakfast. Good WiFi. Friendly little bar on the 2nd floor with reasonable prices. Rooms quite small but clean and adequate as didn't spend much time there. Very convenient for sightseeing as central for going north or south and within easy walking distance of many sights, eg Rockefeller Centre, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park. Coffee making facilities and ice maker in the foyer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very average. Small room, awkward hallways and elevators to navigate with luggage, great breakfast, friendly staff, windows in room, not exceptionally loud on 3rd floor over street. They upgraded us to a room with an extra bed for free so my kids didn't have to camp out on the floor- that was really nice of them. They have a fridge for $20 for your stay if you want to refrigerate food. Quiet hallways, didn't hear other guests while we were there. Average cleanliness. Mattresses were pretty uncomfortable- a little soft for my taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ChristyBMcG,
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that our guests have a comfortable and clean experience. Our rooms do vary somewhat in size, but most are about average for New York City hotel rooms.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg,VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was very nicely redone. It was not large, but certainly adequate for the two of us. Very nicely appointed. All of the hotel we saw was very nicely remodeled - not sure what parts a recent reviewer experienced, but all that we saw were very nice. The breakfast is very nicely done as well. We were also able to check in early and everyone we dealt with was always very helpful.

The hotel is very convenient for theater-goers. We saw two plays in the two days we were there and the location made it very easy on us.

We drove into NYC and the hotel has an arrangement with a garage very close by and only cost us $26 a day for parking, very surprising for the city.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hotel at Times Square is a well-managed, comfortable, ideally located and affordable place which I wholeheartedly recommend to visitors. I must admit I was somewhat hesitant to make a booking after reading many otherwise positive reviews which nonetheless highlighted wear and tear and drabbiness. Well, management must have taken care of those issues recently. The lobby appears new and spiffy, with plenty of space to hang out on comfortable furniture. It is spotlessly clean as are the attractive marble staircase and elevators. I was again surprised by my room which was large, attractively appointed and very quiet. A coffee maker is provided, but no fridge. The bathroom likewise was large and modern. It appeared to me that it had recently been remodeled. I slept like a baby. Room service was efficient and friendly. Desk staff were businesslike. Staff also clearly monitor security in the lobby.

This is one of a very few hotels that do not charge for wi-fi -- an excellent policy that will keep guests returning. Not only that, but they also provide a good basic breakfast, also almost unheard of in Manhattan. The breakfast room is spacious, spotless and nicely decorated.

I would have no hesitation returning to The Hotel at Times Square. Value for your dollar can't be beat. Nor can the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear angkor123,
Thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate all feedback and use it to try and provide a better customer experience but are particularly thankful for thoughtful reviews like yours. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the excellent value we provide and hope you had fun in New York City.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

It was a nice clean and enough space room,for the place is in excellent position in Manhattan and the people in reception treated us very nice, we stayed there for 4 night and i think i will go again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.