We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 454 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 5 days. The location was perfect, close to Time Square area, which included 5th Avenue, Park Avenue, Grand Central Station, and great restaurants.
The personel in the hotel were ever so helpful, and the free breakfast, which included, cereal, bagels, toast, donuts, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, and a choice of beverages, which was more than sufficient. Loved the 24 hour free coffee, cappocino, tea, hot chocolate machine.
They even offered a senior discount of 5%.
The room was a good size, for a New York lodging.
We asked for a corner room, with a view and far from the elevators, and that's exactly what we got.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    907
    278
    82
    73
See reviews for
606
638
90
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My family and I arrived to check in at 11:30pm. We had made previous arrangements for our late check in. Their computer system was down so they were unable to check us in and suggested we chose another hotel. Really!?! By now it was midnight and we had no place to stay. We waited for an hour and half for their system to get fixed No luck. They sent us to their sister hotel the Ramada where we checked in.
With the understanding we would be reimbursed by The Hotel at TimeSquare for this huge mess up. We slept in the Ramada from 2am-6am when we received a call from the Hotel at Time Square that their system was up and we could come back over!!
Once there I left a message for the manager(Sunnie) to contact me and i never heard from her. I left a message every day for FOUR days and never heard a word. Once home and never hearing anything I contacted corporate who told me they had no authority and I had to contact Sunnie first. Great idea if she would reply. She finally did and would only reimburse me $60.00 of the $212.79 that we paid for our four hour stay in a room We didn't even want! Run! Don't book!!

Room Tip: Run! Don't book here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jessica M,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay. We ask for your understanding with regard to the temporary and short failure of our computer system. It is a rare occurrence but not unique to us and we can assure you that we took every step to fix it as fast as possible. That was what enabled us to offer you a room at the Hotel @ Times Square almost immediately. Unfortunately, we were are unable to reimburse you since you were provided with a room at the Ramada. We also did provide you with a discount for the inconvenience. Again, we apologize for this.
We hope you will reconsider staying with us for your next trip to New York. The majority of our guests enjoy their stay for the excellent value they receive and our convenient location.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our first visit to New York and stayed here for a week. check in is a 3pm and we arrived at 2, the receptionist processed our check when we arrived but as I knew check in wasn't until 3pm I figured we would have to wait. we were asked to take a seat and within 10 minutes we were called to the desk. Unfortunately I was just handed two key cards and told to go down to the back elevator-not even told the room number. I figured that the first number of the room was the floor but was disappointed at the lack of customer service. Having worked in hotels and with customers every day it was the least I would have expected.
The room was very small, I had read reviews about the size of the room and expected this, although at the end of the day all we needed was a bed and a shower so we didn't mind too much.
The window looked out onto two walls but again, its a major city and not every room can have a view and I understood this. although I was disappointed as the window didn't allow ANY natural light in during the day which left us feeling a little disorientated in the morning.
The cleaning service did come around every day to provide new towels and make the bed. the overall cleanliness of the room was something to be desired. The corners haven't been hoovered in a while and there were stains all over the curtains. The surfaces weren't dusted daily either as I would expect from a daily cleaning service.
The bathroom was on the small side but it had a powerful shower/bath.
The location was excellent!! 2 minute walk from 5th avenue and all the shops and 1 block from times square and the Rockefeller Centre.
We only had breakfast once in the hotel and it was ok-doughnuts fruit and breads. it is included in the price so you cant ask for much more.
Over all the price of the hotel is very good for its location in NYC. All we needed was a bed to sleep in at night as we were out exploring during the day (and the bed was very very very comfortable!)
At the end of the day you really do get what you pay for and we were happy with what we got. If the little things like the cleanliness of the room was improved it would be an excellent hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be out during the day and exploring the amazing NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here for a weekend. It was in a fantastic location for Times Square and Broadway.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was a perfect start to the day. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in! I have read some negative reviews about this hotel but honestly don't know what people want! if you are looking for a reasonably priced,clean hotel in a great location, The Hotel @ Times square is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: request a quiet room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic location, only 5 minute walk from Time Square!! Wifi is included in the price, breakfast too. It was ok but not very varied and quite fatty food. The staff was not really "welcoming" and our room has no view. The window actually did not close well so it was quite cold near it. No minibar/fridge so no possibility to store food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the recent Wrestlemania weekend. Our room on the 4th floor was two double rooms with a connecting door and a tiny ensuite. Each room had it's own 32 inch lcd tv. Overall the room was clean and well maintained, as we were low down and at the back of the building we didn't get any view at all. We had trouble with the door and got locked out once however housekeeping were able to resolve this quickly. The breakfast room was always busy but was kept well stocked. The bagel cutter was useless, I never got it to work without squashing the bagel.

The location is excellent for exploring New York nearest subway staion is less than five mins walk.

We booked the shuttle service back to the airport which was good value for the 3 of us the car service would work out cheaper for groups of 4 or more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.