We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You do get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #288 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“You do get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our first visit to New York and stayed here for a week. check in is a 3pm and we arrived at 2, the receptionist processed our check when we arrived but as I knew check in wasn't until 3pm I figured we would have to wait. we were asked to take a seat and within 10 minutes we were called to the desk. Unfortunately I was just handed two key cards and told to go down to the back elevator-not even told the room number. I figured that the first number of the room was the floor but was disappointed at the lack of customer service. Having worked in hotels and with customers every day it was the least I would have expected.
The room was very small, I had read reviews about the size of the room and expected this, although at the end of the day all we needed was a bed and a shower so we didn't mind too much.
The window looked out onto two walls but again, its a major city and not every room can have a view and I understood this. although I was disappointed as the window didn't allow ANY natural light in during the day which left us feeling a little disorientated in the morning.
The cleaning service did come around every day to provide new towels and make the bed. the overall cleanliness of the room was something to be desired. The corners haven't been hoovered in a while and there were stains all over the curtains. The surfaces weren't dusted daily either as I would expect from a daily cleaning service.
The bathroom was on the small side but it had a powerful shower/bath.
The location was excellent!! 2 minute walk from 5th avenue and all the shops and 1 block from times square and the Rockefeller Centre.
We only had breakfast once in the hotel and it was ok-doughnuts fruit and breads. it is included in the price so you cant ask for much more.
Over all the price of the hotel is very good for its location in NYC. All we needed was a bed to sleep in at night as we were out exploring during the day (and the bed was very very very comfortable!)
At the end of the day you really do get what you pay for and we were happy with what we got. If the little things like the cleanliness of the room was improved it would be an excellent hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be out during the day and exploring the amazing NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    1,096
    361
    100
    90
See reviews for
727
776
105
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here for a weekend. It was in a fantastic location for Times Square and Broadway.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was a perfect start to the day. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in! I have read some negative reviews about this hotel but honestly don't know what people want! if you are looking for a reasonably priced,clean hotel in a great location, The Hotel @ Times square is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: request a quiet room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic location, only 5 minute walk from Time Square!! Wifi is included in the price, breakfast too. It was ok but not very varied and quite fatty food. The staff was not really "welcoming" and our room has no view. The window actually did not close well so it was quite cold near it. No minibar/fridge so no possibility to store food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the recent Wrestlemania weekend. Our room on the 4th floor was two double rooms with a connecting door and a tiny ensuite. Each room had it's own 32 inch lcd tv. Overall the room was clean and well maintained, as we were low down and at the back of the building we didn't get any view at all. We had trouble with the door and got locked out once however housekeeping were able to resolve this quickly. The breakfast room was always busy but was kept well stocked. The bagel cutter was useless, I never got it to work without squashing the bagel.

The location is excellent for exploring New York nearest subway staion is less than five mins walk.

We booked the shuttle service back to the airport which was good value for the 3 of us the car service would work out cheaper for groups of 4 or more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Very good,good choice of food. Excellent rooms very clean,good service and the staff very helpful. Highly recommend it for short stay as in the middle of everything!!!. No noise from the roads which is a plus. Don't be fooled from the road once inside much better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

An excellent hotel located a 5-minute walk from Times Square.
Comfortable rooms, 2 double beds, a work desk, TV, coffee maker and bath.
We arrived early (8 am) and immediately gave us a room.
The hotel has a good breakfast and rich.
Excellent הalue for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.