We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, execellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 455 Hotels in New York City
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, execellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

NEW YORK,NEW YORK. We had a great experience at the hotel. Our room was on the 12th floor.Rooms are not big in NY no matter where since space is gold, Two elevators made easy for in and out. Security in hotel is well done from civilian dressed to room motion detion after leavinbg room. Our room King bed was comfortable and cleaned every day, with all the required things. I have no complaints, we stay 4 nights,wifi work grate,free continental in the morning,gym was ok for the price I did not have time to used. There is Kiosk to check in and check out everything was smooth. Street is well secured. Office building in front of hotel is a federal office for FBI,Secret service and other fed agencies. guard on duty 24/7 the park in front of the hotel closed at 6 PM. Need to go around the corner after six.

I'm attaching some pictures for reference. I will return next year 2014 to view places that we missed. There are plenty of places to eat one street south in from of hotel we visited CAFE Manhattan .

Room Tip: Use kiosk to check out to save time if line is long, you get full print out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    874
    265
    79
    71
See reviews for
581
615
88
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel at the Times Square is a hotel close to the, yeah, well, to the Times Square. Very central and a good location to visit New York.

However, the hotel itself was quite average. The lobby is a somewhat shabby. On the other side, the rooms are quite in good shape.

However, the breakfast is below average and the gym room small.

Overall, a mixed impression and therefore only 3*.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and is clean, but the compliments stop there. The “queen” beds are actual double beds. There is one ice machine on the 1st floor (the hotel is 11 stories). There is 1 vending in the basement, again 11 story tall building. No fridge in the rooms. And management only cares about getting their money. The manager did not even have the integrity or courage to speak to me in person when I complained about the bed sizes.

Room Tip: If the room says queen...it probably is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear 128FB,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt the beds were too small. The difference in size between queen sized beds and double beds is very small, so they can be easily confused. We do have rooms with larger beds if you require. Unfortunately there is not enough space to have a vending machine and ice machine on every floor. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at our hotel.
We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. We offer a very good value in a very convenient location.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed one night, and I thought is was okay, but not great. Our room was small but seemed clean. The beds were comfortable enough despite the rough and itchy sheets. The workers were neither friendly or unfriendly. The best part of the hotel is its location. Overall, a decent value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poggibonsi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a great experience at the hotel. Rooms are not that big, but comfortable and clean, with all the required things. The hairdrier was broken, but promptly substituted after calling front desk. Small breakfast area, really crowded during Easter week, but breakfast included in room charge was worth of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I arrived here last night after twelve hours of travel the receptionist despite some negative reviews re staff was professional and helpful. But on arriving in our room which was spottless I immediately noticed a doublebed rather than the requested twin. I tried to call reception but phone wouldn't put me through so exhausted as I was I went back down and outlined my need and prior booking for twin beds. On booking I mentioned that epilepsy was a concern and stated firmly twins were needed. Reception told me that a twin room would be free tomorrow I was so pleased. Until she told me it would be an extra thirty five dollars a night! I stayed in a budget hotel because of the price but ensure check and double check guys that you are getting what you requested as when you arrive the cost can spirral!
I did not have the budget to pay again for what I had booked so i was forced to sleep on the floor due to mums night seizures!
On positive note wifi works,and as mentioned rooms clean. Coffee maker doesn't work

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is vary basic , but clean and a good value for money.
We enjoyed being 4 adults in a two room "suite" with a shared bathroom.
Only problem is the slow elevators, and the breakfast room was far too noisy and busy for our tastes, and the quality very low, and we opted instead - most days - for the nearby Pret a Manger, where we could enjoy a good coffee and breakfast in peace

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.