We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 466 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good service with friendly staff. Nice clean rooms, however the rooms were a bit small. Location was excellent, literally a 5min walk from Times Sq. Our room also had a nice view of NYC. i would possibly consider returning to this hotel, but the room did bother me for the price we paid. Not as modern as other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The wife and I were in NYC for 2 nights prior to a Bahamas cruise. I had searched high and low for a reasonable rate and had settled on one of the Double Trees in NYC. Unfortunately the rate jumped before I booked so I started looking a little more. I hadn't seen this hotel before but it showed up at $150 a night so it warranted a closer look.

For my $150 a night I got free wifi and breakfast. This is what really sealed the deal for me. Add this to the great location only a couple blocks from Times Square and I felt that I got a great value. There is a nice lobby with computers for guests at no charge. Hot water was great and so was the shower. The staff was very friendly.

The only negative I have was the room size. It was small. I guess this is the norm in NYC though.

When we go back I expect that The Hotel at Times Square is where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fightpiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location, very good breakfast, efficient house keeping, unhelpful conceirge which couldn't answer some simple questions and I suggest to be joined with the reception counter and to use its original space for other activities. In the midnight, their was NO spare electric adaptor to borrow and the receptionist guided me where I can buy one from!
Free WIFI, complimentary daily newspaper, free Computer with a printer in the lobby area (just ask the reception for password), free coffee, tea & hot chocolate for 24h in the lobby, free national telephone calls from your room telephone (were told about that a little pit late). We had a complimentary late check out because of our long stay (triple room for 16 nights).
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nassermkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travelled to NYC for our first time and needed a room for only one night since we were staying with a friend the rest of the time. We found this place online, and ended up booking it because it was a reasonable price and close to Times Square, which is where we figured we'd visit the first night. Upon check in they couldn't find our reservation, and it ended up that the reservation had been made for the night before. We thought maybe we could just change the reservation date for that day, but that was not the case. Now I understand that it was our fault the room was booked incorrectly, however it was a simple human error that wasn't done on purpose. We were forced to pay for another room, and when I asked why we couldn't switch dates the the girl checking us in just said "I can let you speak with the manager, but she's not going to do anything". I hate to pull this card, but I used to work in management at the front office for a very large resort in Florida, and we would've accommodated a person in my situation, made sure that we took care of them , and didn't make them feel like they were idiots. Because of this experience I won't be returning. The rooms were really good, but that situation could've been handled differently, especially considering I know that resort wasn't booked up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MG239,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the mix-up. Like most hotels these days, we send out an email confirmation which will tell you the date you reserved a room for. We also remind you that in order to cancel a reservation without a charge you must call by 3pm the day before arrival, otherwise you will be charged for one night. We realize that once in a while mistakes happen, but this is why we send out the confirmation email so guests can make sure they reserved for the correct night.

Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and hope you will reconsider staying with us for future visits to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are in NYC, you probably aren't planning to spend much time in your hotel room. You just need a modest priced, comfy place to crash that is close to the places you want to go. This hotel fits the bill perfectly! The decor in the room was very relaxing, the bed was super comfortable. I could hear the street noise from the bathroom, but when I closed the bathroom door, the room was extremely quiet and so clean! The hotel offers breakfast with the room and while it wasn't anything spectacular, the breakfast had a wide variety of options plus coffee and juice. The only negatives were the cramped hallways and the elevator that didn't run very often. Everything else was much better than I expected for a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here last August. The staff was friendly at all hours. The breakfast was fine. The room was clean. Had a view of the apartment behind, but we're only there to sleep anyway! The beds were comfortable. Has a safe. The hotel has a free coffee machine available at all hours. The location was great - we were able to walk to many attractions. Very quiet location. They can arrange tours for you, or arrange a taxi to the airport. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the hotel behind are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winfield363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great Location
Customer Service OK, but nothing outstanding
Not tied up to any major Hotel Chain so no Awards or Customer Loyalty programs
Well Maintained small rooms, but noisy corridors with tourist crowd
Perfect fit if U plan to spend most of your day out, and come back just to crash
Ideal for toiurists

Room Tip: Stay away from 2nd floor rooms as Bar for some strange reason is located right in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkateshwar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#213 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#327 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,258 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#296 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,021 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,987 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#112 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing