We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable very well located and cheap for nyc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #272 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable very well located and cheap for nyc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

To my surprise rooms are large enough and walk in dress room is actually interesting . Bathroom could be larger defenately bathroom sink . Heating in my room did not work during my last night i stayed there and it was of course a very cold night . A breakfast is served complimentary but do not expect a large breakfast buffet but rather just something that will do . Hotel is well taken care of but will surely not win a design or deco prize. For a city as new york and where this hotel is located i find the rate this hotel charges cheap considering rooms are comfy and have a nice wide screen tv as desk and wireless phone. No minibar in the rooms and the only ice cube machine is in the lobby. If this hotel would help guests checking out holding A taci for transport to airport i personally would apreciate. This hotel gave me what i wanted , a good night of sleep and during a very cold winter week in nyc just a short walk to 5th avn . I will be back soon to enjoy but also check this hotel again and see if the little flaws have been corected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    1,014
    315
    94
    81
See reviews for
666
714
97
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, close to everything but not in the middle of the crowds. Nice, clean, updated rooms. Free continental breakfast. Staff is excellent. I have been staying here every January for the past 15 years. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Long story made short:

- Great location, just a couple of blocks away from Times Square, right next to the Subway (47-50 Rockefeller) and 5' away from Times Square's subway station (most major lines cross this station).

- Great staff. The personnel was very friendly and ready to solve every single problem that would arise. Special credits to receptionists Harpreet and Ella, who are by a clear mile the hotel's superstars, always very kind and friendly and did a great job.

- 24/7 stores right next to the hotel, that includes eating spots, drugstores, supermarkets, etc.

- Rooms cleaned daily. Fair overall service, however it can be improved significantly, as there have been a few days that I would find the cleaner's hair on my towels and my sheets.

- Average to small in size but that shouldn't be a problem unless you're planning to host a party in there.

- Free wi-fi internet access. A big plus when you still try to find your way to NY. Free use of 2 Macs by the reception for the guests, as well as 2 HP laser printers.

- Nice breakfast. A variety of foods and beverages. Coffee, milk, corn flakes, donuts, bananas, breads, butter and jam, orange juice, boiled eggs and more.

- Gym. Trivial but still a big plus if you want to keep in shape.

- Noise and disturbances has been an issue during my stay. For the days I had noisy neighbors I found it very difficult to sleep. There's also a constant dull background noise on the back side of the building, probably it's due to the air-conditioning units installed in the backyard, as well as the fire-safety doors slamming all night in the corridor that can turn out to be pretty disturbing, too.

- A nice hall in the reception. Can accommodate quite a few guests. Meetings' table. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate beverages by the reception. Shuttle and tours operator next to the reception. Free luggage storage for the case your flight is later than the time of your checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed here for 5 nights for a January get away. The hotel was clean, beds were super comfy and we had free access to internet use and WiFi. The free continental breakfast was OK but their 24 hours coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate machine was fabulous. We frequented this a few times a day and saved us loads of money compared to Starbucks and just as delicious and as individualized, too. The location was unbeatable with just 2 blocks from center of Times Square or subway. We were able to walk to so many attractions. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the "The Hotel @ Times Square" for two nights with wife and kid of 8 years. The location of the Hotel is Fantasic which more than makes up for the other small glitches. Just around four minutes walk and you are at Times square. The staff is quite helpful. This is a rare property which offers a complimentary Breakfast. This comes in handy. The spread is quite basic but fresh and nice and saves you a lot of time especially if one wants to maximize the sightseeing time. Oh! one must mention the complimentary tea and Coffee available next to the lobby 24/7. This was a blessing as we reached on a very cold November morning non-stop from Mumbai - India. Check in was a bit delayed as we were early. But a room was done up quite quickly under the circumstances. Of course we had provided them advance intimation about our early arrival.Walked from here to Grand Central , Rockefeller Centre- around 20 minutes at leisure. Madam Tussaud 10 mins walk, Ripley's "Believe it or not" - 10 mins. Did the 3 day Hop on Hop Off from Times Square and it was fun in-spite of the bitter cold. Do try the Two Brothers pizza just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 6 times. Great place for location, small but clean, and the continental breakfast was perfect for us. The best part is the rate. You get a lot for your bucks. Now, if you want the "gold faucets", go to the Ritz. I don't think you will be disappointed if you are looking not to exhaust your bank account but wanting a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#243 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.