We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Saint Paul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed here for 5 nights for a January get away. The hotel was clean, beds were super comfy and we had free access to internet use and WiFi. The free continental breakfast was OK but their 24 hours coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate machine was fabulous. We frequented this a few times a day and saved us loads of money compared to Starbucks and just as delicious and as individualized, too. The location was unbeatable with just 2 blocks from center of Times Square or subway. We were able to walk to so many attractions. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    836
    251
    75
    69
See reviews for
565
585
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the "The Hotel @ Times Square" for two nights with wife and kid of 8 years. The location of the Hotel is Fantasic which more than makes up for the other small glitches. Just around four minutes walk and you are at Times square. The staff is quite helpful. This is a rare property which offers a complimentary Breakfast. This comes in handy. The spread is quite basic but fresh and nice and saves you a lot of time especially if one wants to maximize the sightseeing time. Oh! one must mention the complimentary tea and Coffee available next to the lobby 24/7. This was a blessing as we reached on a very cold November morning non-stop from Mumbai - India. Check in was a bit delayed as we were early. But a room was done up quite quickly under the circumstances. Of course we had provided them advance intimation about our early arrival.Walked from here to Grand Central , Rockefeller Centre- around 20 minutes at leisure. Madam Tussaud 10 mins walk, Ripley's "Believe it or not" - 10 mins. Did the 3 day Hop on Hop Off from Times Square and it was fun in-spite of the bitter cold. Do try the Two Brothers pizza just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms if you sleep light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 6 times. Great place for location, small but clean, and the continental breakfast was perfect for us. The best part is the rate. You get a lot for your bucks. Now, if you want the "gold faucets", go to the Ritz. I don't think you will be disappointed if you are looking not to exhaust your bank account but wanting a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on almost every trip to New York since 1994. I've seen it go through 2 thorough renovations, changes of name and staff. I am a frequent business traveler and there is absolutely no better hotel for the price in the entire area.

Ashok at the front desk is a pleasure to deal with; the breakfast is what you would expect at an American hotel in this price range; the rooms are large for Manhattan; and the housekeeping staff is meticulously clean. I've on occasion defected to more glamorous hotels - the Algonquin, the Hilton and the Marquis - but I learned my lesson - this is the absolutely best little find in the entire midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the elevator can be loud, as can those right on 46th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for Times Square, 5th avenue and subway to other areas.
Beds very comfy and rooms cleaned every day to an excellent standard.

Cute little bar with good choice of wines and spirits. Good value hotel without being cheap and tacky.

Breakfast is what you would expect for continental breakfast. Can get busy. Great choice of pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Overall this hotel is average, the room was tiny but clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and of course being 5min walk from times square is fantastic.

The breakfast was dissapointing, bagels, donuts, cereal and boiled eggs were pretty much what you have to choose from. So being in Manhattan there is no shortage of cafes and deli's where you can get a decent breakfast.

Free wifi was available but the signal was weak and speed low.

If you are planning to spend as little time as possible in your hotel room and make the most of the city instead...like we were then this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot believe that some of the poor reviews written were from people who stayed there at the same time we did. We were really impressed with the hotel. We had a 2 bedroomed suite (1211) with 1 bathroom. The beds were huge and the most comfortable we have ever slept in - we would have liked to take them home! The wifi was great. The bathroom was spotless, plenty of towels and toiletries, cleaned everyday, with fresh towels if you wanted them. The breakfast was great and saved us a lot of money. The location was perfect, within walking distance of just about everything. The staff weren't overly friendly, but they were friendly and courteous, just not quite as overboard as in some of the restaurants we visited, but this wasn't a problem. There was a complimentary drinks machine with tea/coffee/hot choc in Reception which was very nice to warm us up after a few hours walking in very cold temperatures.

We hope to return to New York in a couple of years, and I hope we can stay at this hotel again, it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Room 1211 was a lovely 2 bedroomed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.