We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - will definitely stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 449 hotels in New York City
Rotherham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel - will definitely stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot believe that some of the poor reviews written were from people who stayed there at the same time we did. We were really impressed with the hotel. We had a 2 bedroomed suite (1211) with 1 bathroom. The beds were huge and the most comfortable we have ever slept in - we would have liked to take them home! The wifi was great. The bathroom was spotless, plenty of towels and toiletries, cleaned everyday, with fresh towels if you wanted them. The breakfast was great and saved us a lot of money. The location was perfect, within walking distance of just about everything. The staff weren't overly friendly, but they were friendly and courteous, just not quite as overboard as in some of the restaurants we visited, but this wasn't a problem. There was a complimentary drinks machine with tea/coffee/hot choc in Reception which was very nice to warm us up after a few hours walking in very cold temperatures.

We hope to return to New York in a couple of years, and I hope we can stay at this hotel again, it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Room 1211 was a lovely 2 bedroomed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    798
    233
    67
    70
See reviews for
516
553
82
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have difficulty finding words to describe how managment treat people. Back in March 2012 my husband and I were looking for hotel rooms for our Christmas/New Year's trip. We found this hotel that charged $235 per night and we could guarantee this rate for the entire 10 days we were going to be there. We called and spoke directly with the front desk (not reservations) and were told that we could reserve the room. The room could be cancelled at anytime up to 24 hours prior to arrival. The clerk did not ask for an email and provided the confirmation over the phone.

On the same day we found different hotel through Hotwire.com that gave us a rate of $175 per night for the entire 10 days. We booked through hotwire and then called The Hotel At Time Square to cancel our reservation. We spoke with the same clerk who said that everything had been taken care of. We asked for a cancelation number and he said there wasn't one and that we had nothing to worry about.

Fast forward 9 months. We are in NYC and my husband looks at his banking info- the Hotel at Time Square charged us for one night as a no -show fee. On the last day of our trip (New Year's Eve) we go over to the hotel to sort this out. The hotel manager, Sunnie, would not reverse the charge and said that we would have been given a cancellation number. After explaining the story several times all she would say is that they "held the room in good faith" even though we had good faith that our reservation was cancelled. We asked her to which email the confirmation number and cancellation number would have been sent to she said one was not on file and one had not been provided to her at the time of the reservation.

When we returned from the trip, I sent Sunnie an email containing the confirmation email of the hotel we did end up staying at (who would spend money on two hotels for one trip?) as well as a list of our long distance phone records to prove that we called on the same day. Unfortuantely our phone records did not show any of the Toll Free Numbers we had called and we couldn't prove that we had, in fact cancelled our reservation on the same day it was made. To add insult to injury, Sunnie replied to my email and said that a confirmation email and a welcom letter was sent to my email - How could that be since she had said (prior to receiving my email address by me sending her an email to clarify the situation) that no address had been provided at the time of reservation? Unfortuantly, the manager is not willing to reverse the charges and we are stuck with the bill... goes to show that no matter what any one tells you ALWAYS get it in writing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ashlens,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your no show charge cannot be reversed. Most hotels have a strict no show policy similar to ours where a cancellation must be made by 3PM the day before arrival. Our staff is trained well in their positions and usually when booking a room, guests are asked for an email address in order for us to send a welcome letter and confirmation email. When one is not provided a confirmation number is given over the phone for both reservations and cancellations. Further, there is no record of anyone accessing your booking after it was made on March 25, 2012. Unfortunately since we have no record of your reservation being canceled, we cannot issue a refund for the no show.
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and i were visiting our daughter in Philadelphia and the three of us decided at the last minute to go to New York for a night.We booked this hotel the day before we were due to arrive.
We had a large room with two queen beds,large enough bathroom with a good shower and plenty of towels for the three of us.We also had a closet that you could store suitcases and coats in.There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room although you could have as much tea,coffee,water and ice as you wanted in the lobby.
Breakfast was also provided with tea,coffee,juices, cereals,breads,toast,yogurts,fruit and doughnuts.The only problem with the breakfast is that it can get very very crowded late on ,so go a little early and have a good breakfast.
The hotel is very clean and in a great location and we all agreed that we would go back and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for New year's since Dec 28 , until Jan 4th , the first 3 nights we didi not have enough wi-fi coverage , called several times and since the problem wasn't solved , even installing an additional router on the room , they changed us to another room for disabled people , that because of it's special characteristics wasn't ideal for us , even worst for the remaining four nights we didn't have the TV working , called several times and even changing the TV , still didn't work , when checking out we just received a $ 30 discount for the inconveniences , after paying $2,200 for the 7 night stay , another problem is the elevators which are not enough for the hotel capacity

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Enrique2308,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of the WiFi. It was checked by our General Manager who did not have a problem accessing the internet from your room. We are also sorry about the TV not working. At that time we were switching the cable service, so there could have been a problem there. We did everything we could to try to solve the problem for you and since it could not be solved, we issued a 10% discount for the inconvenience.
Most guests enjoy their stay for the convenient location and free amenities we always provide: WiFi, breakfast, and domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the kind of hotel that the location is so worth.
If it was not the location, it would be a normal one.
Bad things: small rooms (though some rooms in the back of the building are bigger), mold smell, bad breakfast arrangement, and overpriced (as all of manhattan hotel).
Good things: location, breakfast included, location, coffe and hot chocolate for free in the reception, location, pleasant room maids, location, and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We selected this hotel several months before our stay (Dec 29-Jan 2 2013) so we thought that we would get a nice break and good accommodations. What a surprise! Paying an average of $400 per day did not not provide the room quality I expected. The first thing was that when we checked in a room was not available. Not to worry. We checked that bags and ventured forth into the now snowing day. Hen we came back 2 hours later, tired, wet and dying to get into a room, the baggage person took forever to get our bags. Not his fault.. He was in great demand. The room was small, the corridors narrow and the elevator terrible. The staff had no training in customer service. Once when going up, the cleaning lady wanted to ride the same elevator. When reminded that there was no space, she let out a short scream and only prevented from creating a scene by her coworker. The coffee was dilute, the bread stale, the eggs.. Never mind. While the surroundings were fairly quiet, the heater/air conditioner provided a constant ambient noise. I must say the shower was impressive.great gobs of water came rushing out. The only good thing I found. Oh, OK, the Internet was free and good.close to Times Square where we were for New Years Eve. If the place was 1/2 the price we paid, I would have been a happier camper. Not sure I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear rs1126,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay. You stayed during a very busy holiday weekend when prices all over New York City are very high. We always maintain competitive rates and always offer free breakfast, WiFi, and domestic phone calls. We apologize for the size of the room and hallways. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are about average size for hotel rooms in Manhattan.
We are very surprised to hear about the incident with the cleaning lady in the elevator. We will certainly look into this. Our staff is continually trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to train them.
We hope you will give us another chance when visiting New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with The Hotel at Times Square. I had researched our choice of hotel thoroughly, so I was quietly confident that it would be fine, but it is a little scary booking something from the other side of the world when you read some quite scathing reviews! My advice to you?....don't stress over the negative reviews! Just realise that there are some people in life who are probably never happy and who obviously set unrealistic expectations for staying in a budget-friendly hotel!
My family (2 parents, 2 teenagers - 16 and 17) stayed in a family suite on the 9th floor which included 2 bedrooms, giving us each our own space. Each room had a flat screen TV and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were a little worried that the outside noise would make it hard to sleep, but we didn't hear a thing, it was so quiet! Considering we are only a block and a half away from Times Square, this was amazing!
I felt the elevators were totally fine, not really slow as several people have mentioned on here previously.
Yes, the bathroom mirror did get foggy, as there are no exhaust fans, but I think this is typical of an older, multiple-storey building. A slight inconvenience, easily fixed by using one of the mirrors in either of the bedrooms.
The front desk staff were efficient. Some more chatty than others (Sonny was our favourite!), but all totally fine. On the first night, we noticed that our wi-Fi was working in the lobby but not in our room. We spoke to the reception staff about it and they got someone out to look at it and it was fixed by the morning, problem solved! Also, a few days into our stay, we mentioned that the hair dryer wasn't working - this hadn't bothered us as we had brought our own, but we wanted to let them know for the next guests - and that the toilet flusher sometimes got a little stuck, making a bit of a noise. Both these concerns were fixed by the time we got back from our shopping! If you have a problem, please just talk to the staff. Give them a chance to fix it before you have a whinge about it!
The breakfast was totally adequate and all you need to get you started before you hit the busy streets of New York. My only tip here: get there early, as it gets pretty hard to find a table if you get there towards the end. Maybe a suggestion for the hotel could be, in the busiest times of full capacity, open the breakfast room for half an hour longer?? This would give more people a chance to get a seat, and would also be helpful for travellers like us who took advantage of shops being open post-midnight, so needed that bit of extra sleep in the morning!
Overall, we could not be happier with our stay at The Hotel at Times Square. We have stayed at a more expensive hotel previously and could not ever justify going back there, now that we know how good value for money this hotel is.
At the end of the day, you are in one of the most amazing cities in the world - this is New York! Have realistic expectations and enjoy your stay here; you will not be disappointed :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.