We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Days of Shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 449 hotels in New York City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Three Days of Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On visiting our Son & Daughter in Law in Connecticut, we had a two night stay at this Hotel to do some Christmas shopping. The Hotel is situated very centrally and is convenient for 5th & 6th Avenue on one side and Times Square on the other. Our room was at the rear of the Hotel and on the 8th floor. The room was quite spacious and had a full size walk in wardrobe & shower room. The room was clean comfortable and quiet at night as we did not hear any traffic noises being at the back. There is a building site adjacent to the hotel however we were never disturbed by noise. The room has a very good free wi-fi, TV, coffee facility and a games system. although we did not use this. The cost includes breakfast and we found it sufficient with a variety of fruit, drinks, cereal, toast etc. In the lobby there is a free coffee machine and ice machine. I believe there is a bar however we did not use it during our stay. The location is a bonus as it is very central for shops and attractions in central Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back miss traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    799
    234
    67
    70
See reviews for
518
553
82
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I rated this hotel's property and service earlier. At the time, I was trying to clear up a billing issue. I had been charged for one too many nights, which was not apparent when I checked out because the hotel had put through a credit card charge that wasn't reflected on the invoice. Unfortunately, the hotel ignored my communications. In fact, they ignored my credit card company, too. I have no idea why, but you should be alert and check your bill closely. Whether this is an isolated incident or part of a pattern, I have no way of knowing. I do know I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear EddieC1954,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the misunderstanding on your bill. It appears that the extra night you were charged for was a no show charge, which is charged if a guest does not show up the night they are expected. Unfortunately, our policy states that you must cancel your reservation by 3pm EST the day before arrival in order to avoid the no show charge. This is clearly stated in our reservation policy. If you think that this was in error and you did arrive on the first night of your intended stay, please contact the General Manager at 212.719.2300.
We hope to welcome you again.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want value for money this is the place to stay. Have been to New York on shopping trips on many occasions and stayed in different hotels each time. My friend and I like a bed each and we are always charged for four persons in NYC however we paid a similar price for two doubles at this hotel as we would for a king room. our room was very spacious and had great storage and as was previously stated cleaned everyday withnfreshntowels and toiletries made available. we were on 4 th floor and rarely had to wait for a lift. I loved the coffee machine in the lobby and being able to bring a cup to the room to relax after hard day shopping. unfortunately I have forgotten his name but the porter was extremely friendly and helpful when we were leaving and took away the stress of hauling bags and even watched out for our car for us and came and got us,carried bags to car and was very grateful for not a huge tip. I would definitely stay here again and won't even bother looking at other hotels next year as they are way over priced and this hotel throws in complimentary breakfast which again is rare in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day trip to NYC. We always stay at the The Hotel at Times Square because it is centrally located, clean and affordable. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and recognize us now because we are frequent guests there. You won't find a better price for the money in mid-town Manhattan. All the folks there from the front desk to the consierge are great people and have helped us out many times.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due bto the location of Times Square( 5 min walk). Very clean and tidy and a good base.
On arrival we went to book in and the staff were very blunt and not very clear to understand. However the good points are,the room was very clean and comfortable. If you stay here you need to call to see if there are any building works going on in the vicinity as they start at 6am so you wont need an alarm clock!. We stayed on the 10th floor and there is no view,so I would recommend that you ask for a low floor as you are not waiting for the lifts.
There is a great bar on the second floor,quite quaint and a nice atmosphere. Ideal for a night cap.
The breakfast is good quality and plenty to eat and drink,I would recommend that you go earlier rather than later as it gets busy and you have to wait to use the toaster to toast your bagels!
Maid service is excellent and you feel that you have walked into a freshly prepared room each time you return.
The concieige is very helpful and you can book all your trips from there. There is also a coffee/tea machine there so you can have a hot drink whilst waiting around.
All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor and a room at front of building,also check if any building works are in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard,CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room was well layed out. Clean. Updated furnishings. Nice bedding. Bathroom was good size but poor choice of toilet. Room was very warm even for Nov. we had to turn the air on. Our room was on 2nd floor so in path of the bar. Other than some rude guests at 6 am yelling at each other down the hall the hall noise was fine. We also did nt need to use elevator just had one flight of stairs.
The breakfast was a little more than I expected. Bread, donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee and some hard boiled eggs. Cold cereal and oatmeal. The problem is the other guests aren't exactly polite or neat. It was so busy and people were so rude blocking the toasters standing in the way of fridges, we left. Being busy the staff couldn't keep up with cleaning. Especially since the guest couldn't be bothered to clean up their trash.
Staff at the desk was not overly friendly but since she was alone at the desk and had to check us in while trying to answer questions from someone on the phone I figure nothing to be bothered with.
The lobby and computer area was nice. Good chairs and tables.
All in all I would stay again. Great lcatin to resturants and sight seeing picks. Close to subway access. We came one night to see the Macy's parade, so it was perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.