We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Save Saved
You added The Hotel at Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Co. Donegal Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want value for money this is the place to stay. Have been to New York on shopping trips on many occasions and stayed in different hotels each time. My friend and I like a bed each and we are always charged for four persons in NYC however we paid a similar price for two doubles at this hotel as we would for a king room. our room was very spacious and had great storage and as was previously stated cleaned everyday withnfreshntowels and toiletries made available. we were on 4 th floor and rarely had to wait for a lift. I loved the coffee machine in the lobby and being able to bring a cup to the room to relax after hard day shopping. unfortunately I have forgotten his name but the porter was extremely friendly and helpful when we were leaving and took away the stress of hauling bags and even watched out for our car for us and came and got us,carried bags to car and was very grateful for not a huge tip. I would definitely stay here again and won't even bother looking at other hotels next year as they are way over priced and this hotel throws in complimentary breakfast which again is rare in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    843
    251
    75
    69
See reviews for
569
591
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 4 day trip to NYC. We always stay at the The Hotel at Times Square because it is centrally located, clean and affordable. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and recognize us now because we are frequent guests there. You won't find a better price for the money in mid-town Manhattan. All the folks there from the front desk to the consierge are great people and have helped us out many times.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel due bto the location of Times Square( 5 min walk). Very clean and tidy and a good base.
On arrival we went to book in and the staff were very blunt and not very clear to understand. However the good points are,the room was very clean and comfortable. If you stay here you need to call to see if there are any building works going on in the vicinity as they start at 6am so you wont need an alarm clock!. We stayed on the 10th floor and there is no view,so I would recommend that you ask for a low floor as you are not waiting for the lifts.
There is a great bar on the second floor,quite quaint and a nice atmosphere. Ideal for a night cap.
The breakfast is good quality and plenty to eat and drink,I would recommend that you go earlier rather than later as it gets busy and you have to wait to use the toaster to toast your bagels!
Maid service is excellent and you feel that you have walked into a freshly prepared room each time you return.
The concieige is very helpful and you can book all your trips from there. There is also a coffee/tea machine there so you can have a hot drink whilst waiting around.
All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor and a room at front of building,also check if any building works are in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard,CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room was well layed out. Clean. Updated furnishings. Nice bedding. Bathroom was good size but poor choice of toilet. Room was very warm even for Nov. we had to turn the air on. Our room was on 2nd floor so in path of the bar. Other than some rude guests at 6 am yelling at each other down the hall the hall noise was fine. We also did nt need to use elevator just had one flight of stairs.
The breakfast was a little more than I expected. Bread, donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee and some hard boiled eggs. Cold cereal and oatmeal. The problem is the other guests aren't exactly polite or neat. It was so busy and people were so rude blocking the toasters standing in the way of fridges, we left. Being busy the staff couldn't keep up with cleaning. Especially since the guest couldn't be bothered to clean up their trash.
Staff at the desk was not overly friendly but since she was alone at the desk and had to check us in while trying to answer questions from someone on the phone I figure nothing to be bothered with.
The lobby and computer area was nice. Good chairs and tables.
All in all I would stay again. Great lcatin to resturants and sight seeing picks. Close to subway access. We came one night to see the Macy's parade, so it was perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean room, good continential breakfast at no extra charge, great location, helpful staff - We forgot things in our room and they held it for two days until we could pick it up. No extra person fee, some hotels charge when we travel as a family. Bar prices were lower than other bars close by. Perfect place to stay for Macy Day Parade less than a block from the route on the slightly less crowded side of the street. GREAT $1 slice pizza at place next door, best food deal in NYC (loved the itialin pop music)

Room Tip: We stayed on a busy weekend so had to wait for the elevator and probably would have picked a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear lakechiro,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun at the Parade. Our staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy so we will certainly pass your kind words on to them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our bus tour hotel .. centrally located and our very clean room on the 12th floor was quiet. OUr room bigger than expected and always done up well and towels etc always plentiful. Having access to drinking water and other beverages 24 hours a day in the lobby was a bonus. Breakfast was adequate...and even as late comers one morning found all the items in good supply. Not a luxury hotel and the buildings nearby were being renovated with lots of construction mess etc but that is progress...We walked to the theatres and other events .... would go back to this hotel .. found it very satisfactory.. staff, especially young man "Sonny "very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors to eradicate street and construction noise.A little bar frig in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.